Breakfast Beet Sliders

As you can see I am still on a beet kick.  

Beets are so nourishing and satisfying, either cold and marinated in a composed salad, roasted with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, or (my favorite) roasted low and slow, whole and unpeeled, and eaten hot out of the oven with a drizzle of butter and flaked salt.  I’ve found that eating a beet a day or every other day has been very beneficial to my digestive system as well.  I had an itch to do something different with this week’s beets and came up with the idea of a beet breakfast slider.On the bottom we have a mini oatmeal pancake, followed by a thick slice of cooked beet, followed by a fried egg, and garnished with chopped fresh celery heart & leaves, pickled celery and a few dabs of sriracha.

IMG_9048

 

IMG_9044

IMG_9050

IMG_9047

IMG_9051

Curiously, as I was reading through some of my favorite blogs this week, I noticed that Food52’s current contest was for “Your Best Mash Up Recipe.”  Well, if this isn’t a mash up then I don’t know what is!  By my accounts we’re combining 4 different concepts here — silver dollar pancake, porridge (cooked oatmeal in your pancake), slider (mini cocktail-type burger or sandwich) and tartine (open-faced).

This recipe is really easy to make and requires not too many ingredients — and if you don’t have celery or pickled celery, I would substitute parsley, a few torn salad greens, green onion, even radish . . . . and you could add cornichon or plain pickle if you want the pickle element.

In the interests of time and efficiency I am providing the link to the recipe I submitted over at Food52.  Also, it’s fun to look at what other folks come up with in these contests, so have some fun exploring.  My own dear blogfriend Suzanne has actually won I think at least 3 of these contests, including the most recent one for her “Salad et Oliveh.”  Amazing!

Finally, thank you to all my friends near and far for the nice “welcome back” last week, especially Angie@thenovicegardener for putting together this Fiesta Friday thing that now has a life (and a self-hosted website!) of its own.  And of course this week’s hosts, Dini@Giramuk’s Kitchen who is fabulously talented, whimsical and colorful; and Molly@frugalhausfrau whose blog is an absolute encyclopedia of VERY useful information regarding how to be creative and frugal in the kitchen, not to mention how to cook deliciously.

38 Comments on “Breakfast Beet Sliders

    • haha, thanks Suzanne, just follow my link it will take you straight there so you don’t have to sift through the other 600 submissions!

  1. I absolutely adore those sliders! I love beetroot, and the idea of combining them with several of my favourite foods is just too good to be true. I’ll have to check this out over at Food52, just to be sure 😉

  2. These are so mouth-watering! I adore beets and just know that this recipe is a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing with us, Sue!

  3. Well, first of all, Wow for the shout out; you’re going to give me a big head! 🙂 I love oatmeal pancakes for one, and beets are some of my favorites! So full of anti inflammatory agents and antioxidants. Plus I was just reading an article about food trends – “rafts” like these are becoming very popular in restaurants and this one is gorgeous! You’ve got it all here, and good luck on your Food52 post! This recipe is making my list of have to try. Thanks for bringing this to FF!

    • Oh, sure! I forgot about that term “rafts” . . . will have to incorporate into another recipe soon!

  4. The sliders look great, I’ve checked out the recipe and I’ll definitely be saving it 🙂
    And of course, wonderful photos xx

  5. I love how many different colours you have incorporated into this dish–the beets have come out such a beautiful deep purple against the bright white and yellow egg…and then there’s the pale green and dot of red. Everything you make always looks so appetizing, and sounds so as well!

  6. You are certainly on a beet kick & I am loving it! I adore beets too & I am growing 2 types in my allotment,…yummmmm! A very special recipe, I believe! Yum!

  7. Oh so petite and pretty Sue! These surely look very appetizing. I still have to hop onto the beets wagon.
    It’s been a whole that I went to FF! Soon may be!! Will check out your submission.

  8. OMG, this looks WONDERFUL!! It’s a winner! What a way to come back, Sue! I grow beets, too, of course, but since I’m TheNoviceGardener, I can’t get them to grow bigger than my thumbs, and I don’t have big thumbs 😃 So happy to see you at the fiesta! XOXO

    • Hi Dedy! it’s not a quail egg if that’s what you’re asking, it may look small because I trimmed the white with a scissors! Have a beautiful weekend!!

  9. Your breakfast beet sliders look absolutely wonderful! Thank you for the inspiration 🙂 And I just discovered your comment on my blog and then subsequently your lovely blog. So happy to have bee led here!

    • …actually I noticed as I browsed your blog tha I had found your blog in the past, but due to a bit of inactivity lately and I am refinding blogs again. 🙂

      • I get that . . . I have been very dormant on the blog since I went back to work full time in an office . . . .

Leave a Reply

