Hello Dear Friends

It’s good to be back.  As I shared in my last post, over 2.5 months ago, the full-time work life has not been conducive to food blogging for a variety of reasons, the prime ones being shortage of time and desireable natural light.  However, since I evangelize that there is a way through every block, I am now on a creative mission to see what fun ways I can “hack” time and light.  It may either result in lots of dark, moody shots, or a slant towards stories and food journaling . . . . or a little bit of both.

Let’s begin our reacquaintance with a somewhat rambling update.

First, we had a couple of birthdays, (mine and M’s).  We are precisely 14 years and 14 years apart.  I tried to put everything I know he really really likes into one cake:  bananas, molasses, chewy dense grains like farro, barley, steel cut oatmeal, more bananas, buckwheat flour.  The only favorites missing are savories that do not belong near cake, namely pork chops and calamari.

IMG_7978

IMG_7977

IMG_7979

For my own birthday my girlfriends took me out to a hole-in-the wall burger joint newly opened in downtown Los Angeles, by a couple of chefs who hung up their fine dining aprons to open the invite-only pop-up dinner club Supper Liberation Front, as well as a taco joint, Tacos Puntas Cabras, in Santa Monica.  I am very very fond of their taco joint, so not surprisingly I found the burger joint tasty and fabulous too.  They’re both a little bit punk, a little bit mom and pop.  Even more fun, I rode my bike into work, then to the Metro, and actually rode the Metro downtown.  Remarkably easy.

After the burger experience we walked around the Financial/Banking District and landed at the famous Nickel Diner, home of the original Maple Bacon Donut.  The Nickel Diner is old school diner with a little bit of retro-glam-tattooed-biker hipster vibe.  There’s really no other way to describe it.  It didn’t start that way, it was just a good old classic diner; then to survive over the years it picked up some modern attitude and food.  We ordered a root beer float, a piece of smores pie, and a scoop of ice cream between the four of us, and our waitress, who was hip to my birthday, also fixed us all up with 4 maple bacon donuts to go.  The crown jewel of the evening was the uncontrollable laughter at watching our waitress repeatedly touch and poke with her hands, the fake or sprayed dessert sample tray, explaining the what and how and where of each item.  At a certain point we realized she was egging us on and putting on a show, caressing and poking the plastic food to elicit laughter.  You had to be there, but I’ve at least got a video of the torching of the smores pie:

IMG_8724

This is a Fish Taco, Tofu Taco and Shaved Cauliflower Tostada from Tacos Puntas Cabras, all for less than $11

I also had the wonderful good fortune of being treated by my parents to a dinner at one of the best restaurants in Los Angeles right now, Rustic Canyon.  Unfortunately it was too dark in there to take good photos, but WOW.  My favorites were the mortadella from the charcuterie plate and the potatoes and gravy (yes you heard that right).

Here are a few galleries highlighting what we’ve been up to.  More detail and recipes to follow!  Have a wonderful weekend!

Here is the birthday gallery:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are examples of the only types of things I’ve been cooking:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s a gallery related to things in my sureall-y beautiful and clean work neighborhood and my rides on the way to work:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lastly, here’s a sampling of some fun places we’ve visited for food and fun:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

24 Comments on “Hello Dear Friends

  1. So nice to have you back. Belated birthday greetings to you and thanks for sharing your celebration with us. I look forward to your future posts however you decide to tackle them!

  2. So wonderful to see you back, I have missed seeing you. Your photo’s are amazing, the blog looks so good. Welcome back and looking forward to more when you have the time. I know how it is, juggling life stuff can make it hard I know all too well.

  3. HBD!! Love hearing about your celebration too 🙂 Hard to beat good friends & good eats! HBD to your lucky hubby too! All photos – AWESOME- as usual!! ❤

      • Stuck in middle of no where situation these days Sue. This house on sale and have to find one in Dallas! Moving pains!! Will pass soon. Looking forward to August already since I know it would be all settled by then!

  4. Belated Happy Birthday to you both! So lovely to have you back – gorgeous pictures which I have very much missed – look forward to seeing what you do next!

  5. Hey Sue! So nice to see you back in the blogoshpere again! I was wondering if we would see you again! Totally understand the time and light problem…I live much farther north of you and it is brutal in the winter months! I go to work and come home in the dark! Lowel Ego Pro to the rescue… 🙂

    • Haha, great to hear from you! I have so much catching up to do. I’m glad you’ve survived the winter months!

  6. I am so happy that you are back! Happy belated Birthday to the two of you. Thanks for sharing this lovely post with us.

Leave a Reply

