Sprouted Barley Porridge with Cranberry Coconut Cream

 

I recently stumbled upon a neat trick to cook barley quickly and make its nutrients more available to the bod: sprouting overnight in kombucha spiked water.I adapted the tip from the book Back to Butter: A Traditional Foods Cookbook — Nourishing Recipes Inspired by Our Ancestors by filmmaker-turned-farmer Molly Chester, who runs Apricot Farms in Moorpark, CA, as well as her blog Organic Spark.”  Apricot Farms is an avocado, lemon and livestock farm she runs with her family and they have some of the best eggs I’ve ever eaten.

Not having a ton of success with traditional sourdough starters (something I can relate to), Molly began using kombucha as a boost and it worked beautifully.  So, with a few dregs of kombucha left in my refrigerator, I added them to the soaking water for my overnight barley.  In the morning the barley was plump, chewy and nearly cooked without ever having seen the stovetop.  After a brief rinse I returned the barley to a pan, covered it with fresh water and boiled for 5 minutes.  Perfectly cooked sprouted barley in 5 minutes, ready to turn into a nice winter porridge. For the winter touch I took a couple of handfuls of raw cranberries and zapped them in the Vitamix with a can of coconut cream and a couple of scraped pods of cardamom.  I am bringing this porridge, albeit a little late, to Fiesta Friday #54.  Enjoy!

cranberry fool 3 (2 of 14)

cranberry fool 3 (10 of 14)

cranberry fool 3 (11 of 14)

cranberry fool 3 (12 of 14)

cranberry fool 3 (14 of 14)

cranberry fool 3 (4 of 14)

cranberry fool 3 (8 of 14)

cranberry fool 3 (6 of 14)

 

 

 

23 Comments on “Sprouted Barley Porridge with Cranberry Coconut Cream

  1. Sue, this is beautiful, informative and brilliant. What gorgeous photos! The cardamom, cranberry, coconut mix is amazing. What a great trick for the barley. I need to start looking into bread starters. It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a while. Wonderful post.

  2. Wow, this is so interesting, and looks delicious. Those flavors! And what an ingenious way sprouting barley. I don’t have kombucha at home, but I have kefir “grains”; I wonder whether it would work as a “starter”.

  3. This is a master peace if I may say so! And I am being God Honest! ☺️
    The color of that porridge is exemplary Sue. I am guessing that coconut cream added to the desired sweetness to the porridge. I liked your technique to sprout barley to cook. If I may ask, what is kombucha? A drink?
    I hope you are having a swell time at fiesta :).
    Sonal

    • Ok Sonal, kombucha is your new favorite drink. It is technically fermented tea . . . black tea and sugar, with the kombucha “mother” which ferments it . . . after the fermenting you addd flavorings and bottle up for carbonation. I have a very early post on my blog about how to make your own but we routinely buy it from the store (ouch). It is supposedly very good for you and I swear on my life this is true: I find that when I drink it I don’t get grey hairs! In fact I have been not drinking it so much recently and notice I am getting more and more grey hair (I don’t color my hair (yet?) and so I notice when they come in !)

  4. I started reading your post and had to wiki kombucha- I should have read your comment to Sonal first!! 😉 I have a lot (TONS) of grey hair… so it sounds like I need to start drinking some ASAP! Your photos are insanely fabulous on this one- what a healthy, unique, and beautiful breakfast!! Happy Fiesta Friday! 🙂 Josette

    • Oh Josette, thank you! It’s so funny I just assume every place is like LA where people drink kombucha all the time and it’s available even at the most “generic” stores like Vons and such. I really like it but it is quite ridiculously expensive, that’s why I had to learn to make it myself.

  5. I’ve never cooked barley (actually, no idea where to find it in Spain). I have a soft spot for anything berry and pink (from the berries), this must be delicious!

Leave a Reply

