Rose Petal Spread

With a bounty of roses in our front yard I decided to make an Ayurvedic recipe for Rose Petal Spread, also known as Gulkand, although my Gulkand was more petal and less jammy liquid.  I decreased the amount of sugar called for to begin with, then used half honey and half sugar for the sweetening and wilting agent.

Here are some interesting claims regarding Gulkand:

Gulkand has cooling properties and is eneficial in alleviating heat related problems like tiredness, lethargy, itching, aches and pains. It also helps in reducing burning sensations.

• Gulkand is a powerful antioxidant and a very good rejuvenator.

• Consuming 1 – 2 teaspoons of gulkand helps to reduce acidity and stomach heat. It also helps in treating ulcers and prevents swelling in the intestine.

• Gulkand helps to treat mouth ulcers, strengthens teeth and gums.

• Rose petal spread can be used to treat dysmenorrhoea and is effective in relieving menstrual pain.

A very good digestive tonic – helps to improve appetite, improves digestion and corrects digestive problems.

• Gulkand helps to remove toxins from the body and purifies blood. Thus, it helps in giving a clear complexion and prevents the occurrence of various skin problems like acne, rashes and bumps.

• Helps to reduce excessive perspiration and foul body odour.

• Having two teaspoons of gulkand before venturing outdoors, can help to prevent sunstroke and controls nostril-bleeding.

• It is good for all those individuals who have water retention problem, as it helps in increasing your urine output.

• It has a calming effect on the nervous system.

-from Healthmeup.com

Let’s make some Gulkand:

 

rose petals (18 of 21)

Just one of several de-petaled buds

 

cores (11 of 12)

Petals gathered on the front porch chair cushion

 

cores (12 of 12)

rose petals (2 of 21)

 

rose petals (9 of 21)

Ready to rinse gently with water and drain

rose petals (10 of 21)

rose petals (12 of 21)

Rinsed and drained

rose petals (15 of 21)

Cardamom pod ready for crushing

rose petals (16 of 21)

 

 

shrimp salad (12 of 16)

Mixed with 2 Tbps confectioner’s sugar and 2 Tbps honey and massaged gently

 

shrimp salad (13 of 16)

shrimp salad (14 of 16)

Ready to go into the fridge to rest

shrimp salad (15 of 16)

shrimp salad (16 of 16)

The smell is heavenly

On toast with raw almond butter

On toast with raw almond butter

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups rose petals, rinsed gently in water and drained
  • 2 Tablespoons organic confectioner’s sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons raw organic honey
  • 1 cardamom pod, crushed and contents ground in a morter and pestle
  • drop of rose water (if you don’t have rose water, don’t worry)
  • dash cinnamon

Preparation:

Simply add all ingredients together and massage the petals gently with your hands.  Transfer to a jar and allow to sit in the refrigerator overnight.  If you want a jammier texture, increase the sugar to 1/2 cup and add 1/4 cup water and simmer for 30 minutes, then jar and refrigerate.

 

 

23 Comments on “Rose Petal Spread

  1. Now I know what to do with the plethora of roses I will (hopefully) have in my backyard. Maybe some homemade rosewater also!! Just beautiful Sue.

  2. When i was growing up mom used to make me eat gulkand for all ita nutritious properties but i hated it😄 maybe my tastes have changed now & i need to start making the munchkin eat it! Going to give it a try in the summer when i have roses. Thank you & gorgeous pictures!!

  3. Elaine and I bought dried rose petals yesterday – I will try and make a version of this using them! Your photos are just beautiful, Sue x

  4. This looks so much better than the commercial variety I have bought which is usually just too sugary. Your beautiful petal pictures are a real treat when I am surrounded by white. It will be a while before I have rose petals of my own, but thanks for the inspiration.

    • Sure Hilda, it is quite and interesting spread, it smells so nice even though it’s not my favorite texture. Next time I might puree.

  5. This is seriously the most gorgeous looking condiment I’ve ever seen Sue! I really want to make this…do you happen to know where in LA one finds organic roses? I’ve asked numerous times with no luck. Perhaps the SM Farmer’s Market? :). You’re awesome, so happy I’m back on your feed!

    • thank you Bonnie! I will ask next time I am at the FM whether the roses are “organic”. Otherwise you may have to do some research and google around. I am also happy to give you a couple buds! I think this spread goes better with tea than coffee . . . which makes me wonder, why has nobody made a rose tea? Or if they have why have I not heard about it?

  6. I’ve never heard of this before, but it’s seriously so beautiful and sounds wonderful. I love that picture of the flower. So so pretty. I would eat this all the time. How beautiful. Jeez. You’ve really done it this time.

Leave a Reply

