Florentine Cookies

Greetings from Dana Point, CA where my husband and I are enjoying a sort of second honeymoon of sorts thanks to the graciousness of my parents.  It’s the best Christmas gift ever!  As we speak I am sitting by the fire, watching early morning surfers tackle some low surf, and digesting a breakfast of fried kimchee, tofu, brown rice and eggs.  I feel a little out of my element, lost in all this luxuriousness, but nonetheless very grateful.  Another reason I am grateful is that my friend Prudy asked me to submit a cookie recipe for her recent brainchild project on her blog, Another Cookie Monday.   Prudy and I hit it off immediately when we met (not in person, but still . . . ).  She is endowed with a giant generous heart, a youthful and enthusiastic sense of humor, and great cooking skills.  So thank you Prudy and may I offer you some Italian Florentine cookies?

These cookies are very simple to make and wonderfully delicate, a perfect light accompaniment to coffee, tea or offered as dessert.

florentine cookie monday 2 (1 of 1)

florentine cookie monday (12 of 22)

florentine cookie monday (14 of 22)

florentine cookie monday (18 of 22)

 

florentine cookie monday (2 of 22)

florentine cookie monday (22 of 22)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups sliced, blanched almonds
  • 1 Tbsp coconut flakes
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • Finely grated zest of 1 orange (about 2 Tbsp)
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I like to use half regular sugar and half brown sugar)
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons light corn syrup or honey
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Chocolate Topping:

  • 4 ounces semisweet chocolate, or your favorite chocolate bar, chopped

Directions

1.     Place rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350F. Line a baking sheet with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper.

2.     Pulse the almonds in a food processor until finely chopped, but not pasty. Stir together the nuts, flour, zest and salt in a large bowl.

3.     In a small saucepan, heat over medium the sugar, cream, corn syrup and butter, until mixture comes to a boil and sugar is dissolved. Boil for 1 minute, remove from heat and stir in the vanilla, then pour mixture into almond mixture and stir just to combine. Cool for about 1/2 hour.

4.     Scoop rounded teaspoons or rounded tablespoons of batter and roll into balls. Place on prepared baking sheet, leaving about 3 to 4 inches between each cookie.

5.     Bake 1 pan at a time, until the cookies are thin and an even golden brown color throughout, rotating pans halfway through baking time, about 10 to 11 minutes. Cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to racks to cool. Repeat with remaining batter. Serve.

Chocolate topping:

1.     Put the chocolate in a medium heatproof bowl.

2.     Bring a saucepan filled with 1 inch or so of water to a very low simmer; set the bowl over, but not touching, the water. Stir the chocolate occasionally until melted and smooth. (Alternatively, put the chocolate in a medium microwave-safe bowl. Melt at 50 percent power in the microwave until soft, about 1 minute. Stir, and continue heat until completely melted, about 1 to 2 minutes more.)

3.     For sandwiches: Drop about 1/2 teaspoon chocolate onto on the flat side of half of the cookies and press together with remaining halves. Return to rack and let chocolate set.

4.     For chocolate decor: Drizzle melted chocolate over Florentines as desired. Set aside at room temperature until chocolate is set.

Enjoy!

 

19 Comments on “Florentine Cookies

  1. Sue, I love Florentines, never made them but always have to have one when I visit the bakery. I will have to make your recipe. They look great and what a wonderful cookie to start out the week with on Cookie Monday. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  2. My mom loves these cookies. Yours look absolutely amazing! I love the pictures you took, they are stunning… 🙂 Yum, would love to try one of these.

    And enjoy the time on your second honeymoon. I’m always longing to see the next upload in instagram. 🙂 Enjoy and have a great start into 2015. 🙂

    • Tina these are my mom’s favorite cookies but sadly none msde their wsy to her…we ste a whole tray plus I gave some to neighbors….sorry mum!!

  3. Gorgeous cookies Sue, they look so light and airy, I am loving all the ingredients, will definitely have to give it a try.

  4. These look so good. I’ve only ever had store bought florentines (we call them lace cookies) but maybe I’ll try my own one day!

  5. Lucky you Sue. Enjoy the second honeymoon with that gorgeous breakfast…I could devour all of it without a burp :). Those cookies are to kill for. I had my eye on these since I saw them on the Instagram. Beautiful clicks and yummy cookies. Love Prudy and her blog. Are they crunchy in texture? I am saving this recipe.

  6. Florentine are among my preferred cookies, and not just because they have the name of my city! Your cookies look super yummy. I hope you had great time dying your 2th honeymoon… Happy New Year again!

    • Aren’t florentines so perfect? They are my Mom’s favorite cookie and now I know why!

Leave a Reply

