Post Christmas Post + Giant Bread Dumpling Recipe (Serviettenknodel)

I want to take this opportunity to thank all of my blogging friends who have made this year beyond awesome:  Patty, Sofia, Sonal, Selma, Ngan, Suzanne, Jhuls, Angie, Nancy, Prudy, Margy and so many more!  I love you all!  Now, on to food.  When I saw this beautiful Serviettenknodel (“napkin” dumpling because it’s formed in the shape of a giant sausage, packed into a kitchen towel/napkin, then rolled, secured and boiled) from Ginger and Bread, I knew I had to make it for our Christmas meal.  It’s like stuffing but outside the bird and it is delicious, moist and savory.  It is the perfect usage for stored up odds and ends of bread.  All you need is a little milk, broth, onion and nutmeg, and eggs, and your golden.  I’m serving this giant dumpling at this week’s Fiesta Friday.

If you, like me, enjoy the crispy burnt edges of stuffing, just take your portion and broil it for a second. That’s what I did, the next day.

We had the most fabulously festive Christmas this year, filled with lots of holiday spirit, love and good food.  And of course complete with a table top tree fully decked out with all my Mom’s family ornaments and mantle decorations from when I was growing up which she bequeathed to me last year, a wreath, stockings, Mom and Dad’s dogs, my brother in law and of course Billy the hungry teenager.  On the menu was the fabulous dumpling served with pork bone broth gravy, rounded out with bratwurst, sauerkraut, warm german potato salad with bacon and mustard, a roasted cauliflower salad with pomegranate seeds and parsley, roasted beets, deviled eggs and pumpkin pie (the last 3 made by my Mom).

christmas (1 of 25)

The Holy Serviettenknodel!

christmas (2 of 25)

Warm German Potato Salad

christmas (4 of 25)

Beets, Brats and Roasted Cauliflower Salad

christmas (6 of 25)

 

christmas (12 of 25)

My Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

 

christmas (15 of 25)

Angel and Candy

christmas (17 of 25)

christmas (19 of 25)

IMG_7550

IMG_7551

christmas (25 of 25)

 

Recipe for Serviettenknodel:

Ingredients:

8 cups cubed bread, preferably crusts removed

1/2 cup beef broth

1 cup half & half

1 onion, chopped

2 Tbsp butter or olive oil

1 Tbps sea salt

4 eggs

1 tsp nutmeg

1 Tbsp chopped parsley

freshly ground black pepper

2 Tbsp freshly grated parmesan cheese (totally not traditional!!!)

Preparation:

Combine half & half, broth, salt, eggs, nutmeg, cheese and parsley, and beat well, then pour over bread.  Mix with hands and smash to form a “paste.”  Form into a giant sausage and place in a kitchen towel.  Roll up and twist ends, securing with rubber bands.

Boil a dutch oven or large pan full of water, and place napkin roll into water (but not touching bottom) so that ends are resting on sides of pan, then cover and boil gently for 30 minutes.  Remove from water, allow to cool for a few minutes, and unfold.  Slice and serve with gravy or sauce.

christmas 3 (1 of 8)

christmas 3 (3 of 8)

christmas 3 (4 of 8)

IMG_7541

 

IMG_7542

IMG_7547

christmas 3 (5 of 8)

christmas 3 (7 of 8)

christmas 3 (8 of 8)

 

29 Comments on “Post Christmas Post + Giant Bread Dumpling Recipe (Serviettenknodel)

  1. Sue, these pictures and your narrative are simply filled with Christmas love and joy! You are a wonderful little birgerbird chef, daughter, wife and mother! Thank you for your wonderful pictures, writing and recipes for all of 2014!!!! Grand gifts from your heart!

  2. Once I can contemplate cooking again, I will come back to this recipe – it looks delicious, especially for a cold winter’s day. Lovely pics of Christmas cheer and tradition. Thanks for sharing and happy Fiesta Friday.

  3. Thank you for this wonderful Christmas present, Sue! I am glad you liked the Knödel – it makes for a wonderful side dish. I wish you all the best for 2015!!
    Ginger x

    • yes except I spelled it wrong! I must have just hit the ok button when spell checker tried to correct my German. Oh well I fixed it!

      • I didn’t know my reputation as a stickler fro grammar preceded me even on the web 😉

  4. I saw that dumpling on Ginger’s site and fell in love with it also. Yours looks amazing and what a great holiday meal you had. Everything looks incredible including your family the two beautiful dogs and the house. I feel so lucky to have made the most amazing blogging friends, thank you for being one of them. I think you are amazing.

  5. Such a wonderful post Sue, so vibrant, festive and mouth-watering! Your photos are just amazing, each one capturing the essence of the Christmas spirit. Your dumpling steals the show…..Quite beautiful! Best wishes for 2015.

    • Thank you Dear Loretta! I’m in dumpling hangover….so thirsty tiday from all the salty food yesterday!

  6. This looks like wonderful family Christmas- you are lucky, not that much to say 🙂 Beautiful pictures and lovely, smiling people around you 🙂

  7. What a fantastic special recipe for all of us to try out! Your parents & brother, I guess look lovely! The house is well-decorated too! 🙂
    MMMMMMMM,… A feast for the eyes! xx

  8. Again, thank you for making my year awesome! I’ve been so busy I havent had a proper sit down to read blogs lately. I was chatting to Farianti from My Simple Delights (yeah we both live in Spain but in separate cities but chat alot!) and she said that I had to see the amazing Christmas dinner you put together. I had seen bits and pieces on your Instagram ofcourse, but gosh its amazing all put together here in one post. So lovely to see the photos of your family! xxx

    • Haha, thanks Sofia, I don’t think my family knows that they are all over the internet, they just think the camera clicks and then I develop some hard copies once in a while. WRONG!!! I love Farianti’s blog too. It was really fun having you to myself for a day back in September. Have a great new year!!

      • Funny what your family thinks 🙂 My family still says things to me like: why are you making photos of the food? For my blog. ohhh, YOU make the photos? Yes, and I also write it. Oh, YOU write there??? Hahaha what do they think I hire a team?
        Yeah, I haven’t met Farianti yet but we chat and even ring each other all the time 🙂 September was a fun month 🙂 I hope you have a great New Year too!

Leave a Reply

