Roasted Tomato & Butternut Squash Soup

duo soup 3 (1 of 1)

Yoga may have killed my burger mojo.I know you’re listening, Elaine.  It seems that I’ve lost my burger enthusiasm, which is the signature food flag I’ve been flying for years.  Two days into our 40 day yoga challenge, I first felt the loss of taste for burgers but I let it pass.  A week later, still not craving burgers and confused, I went to the butcher and stared lovingly at the dry aged, grass fed ground beef patties, I read menus and looked at pictures of all manners of burger from classic and diner style to gastro pub and gourmet style, hoping a spark of desire would materialize. Nothing.

We enrolled in a “fitness” challenge that I thought would be so much easier than, say, spinning, Crossfit, power yoga, running . . . you name it . . . because I thought this type of yoga, Kundalini yoga, would be easy.  Or at least easier than power yoga, ashtanga yoga, etc.  Instead, over the last 10 days I’ve been asked to hold my arms up, sometimes even flapping them in various positions and movements for upwards of 7 minutes, to breathe rapidly (and I mean turbo rapid) through my nose using only my belly and navel for upwards of 3 minutes, and all sorts of other contortions that are totally outside my athletic comfort zone.  I’ve had my butt kicked 3 different times in the last week by 3 yogis who are over 70 years old. The good news is, though, that the movements, or “kriyas,” get you in that zone of simultaneous buzz/high and focused relaxation.  I secretly love this yoga, especially at the end when lying on my back, but I’m also enjoying the singing as I’ve always wished I could sing beautifully and freely, and when you sing (or chant as it’s technically identified) with 20 others who are also exhausted and blissed out, not only is your voice drowned out but you don’t care how you sound!  I’ve been buzzed out on coffee before, but with an accompanying nervous agitation, and I’ve been relaxed before, but with an accompanying laziness or exhaustion, but never buzzed and relaxed at the same time.  Pretty cool.  Also there’s been funny anecdotal wisdom teachings, live music, laughter, and chanting.  And free hot tea afterwards, always tea.

Whether or not the two are related, since starting this yoga challenge I’ve had a craving for vegetables and hearty soups.  So today I bring another soup to Fiesta Friday #47.  Thank you Indu and Jhuls for hosting!!! This soup is so easy to make and marvelous with grilled cheese, quesadillas, rice or flatbread.  You roast your veggies with olive oil and salt (and I like freshly ground black pepper), add broth or water, sweat a small panful of diced onion and garlic, and then throw everything together in a blender or food processor.  Season to taste, add garnishes such as nuts or breadcrumbs or a cooked grain, squeeze some sriracha and/or lemon juice or vinegar, and enjoy.  If you’re a purist you can use a food mill or a ricer, thereby decreasing the “foam” factor that happens when using blenders and food processors.The color is beautiful and if you are feeling creative, you can make the two purees separately and ladle them side by side with a vegetable garnish for color and textural contrast.

 

duo soup 2 (1 of 16)

I sliced 2 butternut squash, tossed with olive oil and salt, and roasted at 400F for about 25 minutes, skin on. And I left the skin on when pureeing!

duo soup (1 of 2)

 

The puree

The puree

Tomatoes of all sizes, halved, tossed with salt and olive oil, and roasted at 400F for about 30 - 40 minutes

Tomatoes of all sizes, halved, tossed with salt and olive oil, and roasted at 400F for about 30 – 40 minutes

duo soup 2 (16 of 16)

I need a new rack and rimmed baking sheet!

 

Pureed with water and a bit  of olive oil

Pureed with water and a bit of olive oil

duo soup 4 (1 of 1)

 

Have a wonderful weekend!

 

50 Comments on “Roasted Tomato & Butternut Squash Soup

  1. What an artful looking soup! I have never been a big burger fan so it would be easy for me to prefer this even in my rough shape. Your yoga experience sounds intriguing, but I can’t chant.

    • Ha! Let’s just call it repeating the same 2 or 3 words to music over and over again! The soup is pretty darn good, thanks for commenting & have a great weekend.

    • Thank you Fae and we are both catching up on each other’s blogs. I don’t know why you are not in my feed and when I saw you today I thought you’d been on vacation for months . . . not so! Have a wonderful weekend and holiday season!!

  2. This was like an art and magic in a bowl Sue. Gorgeous plating and loved the idea of making different soups and plating like this. I wish you the best on that cleansing and getting fitter path :).

  3. Great to know that you’re enjoying your yoga sessions. I’ve never tried ‘kundalini’ yoga, but it sounds interesting! If this gorgeous soup is an outcome of only that, then I surely hope you turn “simply vegetarian” 😉 😉

  4. Beautiful bowl of tomato butternut squash soup, and so perfect for the winter solstice coming in two days. The pictures and presentation look so delicious for this dark and shortest day of the year. Maybe you should change soup name to winter solstice soup. Great work chef!

  5. Well, what can i say…..? The yoga sounds fab (although why you thought it would be easier than some other fitness course I don’t know!!!), and having been and there and done it, I completely understand your feelings of being blissed out and buzzing at the same time, and the fact that you’ve slept so well is great 🙂 but losing your burger mojo, how interesting…i wonder how long it will last? I’m sure you could make fabulous vegetarian food every day, but do you want to??? Does your man want you to???

    • The answer is yes I do want to, it’s certainly easier on the budget, but hubby always asks for a little bit of meat or seafood.

      • You can plan it to allow for both of your choices, I cook meat for my boys every day, but I don’t eat it 🙂 depends what you want to do xx

  6. I’ve never tried doing yoga, Sue. Do you think the yoga has something to do with the burger? Hmm. But that’s good that you crave for something else. And this looks really pretty and delicious. 🙂 Happy FF.

  7. YOU are an artist, Sue! Gorgeous, gorgeous soup… beautiful photos to leave me drooling, and it sounds delectable! It’s good to see you back at your blog! 🙂

  8. Oh dear Lord – your photos, Sue!! I’m just picking my jaw up off the ground…I wonder if the yoga bliss and buzz are also making you even more creative – is that even possible? – as well as turning you into a veggie?!! I used to do Astanga yoga a while ago then got bogged down with work and stopped going. I really miss it. I also went on a yoga retreat where we had chanting sessions in the round room at the top of an Oast House and it was a very uplifting and quite the spiritual experience – there is something quite primeval in that sound of many voices where your voice just seems to find it’s path within all the others. Lovely post!

    • Well how nice of you …I think you my husband snd Sonal are my grestest encouragers and I love hearing from you!

  9. Beautiful photos and yummy looking soup! I do not do yoga but I have an elliptical and stationary bike plus weights, resistance bands and lots of tapes! Any exercise is good no matter what it is 🙂

  10. What gorgeous photos! And a delicious soup! I want some now. I think it’s totally cool to evolve and change. I have the same problem. When I started writing about food I was obsessed with spanish food. I still am, but having a spanish URL doesn’t quite make sense when I’ve kind of expanded my culinary tastes toward so many other kinds of cooking. It happens. i’m always curious to see what you’re up to here, whether it’s burgers, soup, baking, whatever. It’s always beautiful.

    • Thank you Amanda, it’s nice that I have the same feelings about always looking forward to your next post. THere’s a wonderful Spanish place a couple of blocks from us called Bar Pinxtos and for happy hour, even if you don’t drink like me, you can get a fantastic tapas sampler for $6. It’s the best dinner in town!

  11. omg, Sue this looks ravishing! Love love love this soup and the presentation is simply gorgeous! Roasted tomatoes and butternut squash sounds like a perfect marriage! And regarding your yoga, I always knew it was good for you in many ways – but now I know that the benefits of yoga are infinite – it makes you crave for healthier food and makes you so creative too! thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

