Mostly Cranberry Pie

I can’t seem to get off the pie wagon, I’m having too much fun.  This pie was inspired by this holiday’s fruit darling, the cranberry.Yes, it is Thanksgiving time again, when cranberries come out, but mostly in sauce to accompany turkey.  I am not much of a turkey fan except for the skin (if it’s crispy), or unless it is part of a meatball, burger or sausage.  But we like cranberries around here, so I thought I’d try them in a pie for a little change of scenery.

Because fresh cranberries are bracingly tart, I paired them in this pie with a nice layer of sweet bananas.  The flavor combination is perfect.  If you do make this pie, though, don’t skimp on the sugar/honey; my first pie tried to dramatically reduce the sweetener, which only resulted in us heaping spoonfuls of honey directly onto each slice of pie.

Happy Friday to all and especially to my fellow partiers at Fiesta Friday.

cranberry pie (3 of 9)

cranberry pie (4 of 9)

cranberry pie (7 of 9)

cranberry pie (1 of 9)

cranberry pie (8 of 9)

Cranberry Banana Pie:

Ingredients:

  • 1 recipe double pie crust
  • 5 medium, ripe bananas
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons evaporated milk
  • 24 ounces fresh cranberries, chopped
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar or honey
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated orange zest
  • ¼ cup fresh orange juice
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Preparation:

  1. Slice bananas and toss with evaporated milk, salt and cornstarch.  Set aside.
  2. Toss cranberries and sugar in a large bowl. Let stand, tossing occasionally, until berries release their juices, 50–60 minutes.  If using honey, simply proceed with blending (below).
  3. Drain berries in a fine-mesh sieve over a bowl, reserving liquid. Set berries aside. Transfer liquid to a blender, add orange juice, cornstarch, salt, 3 Tbsp. flour, and ¼ cup berries, purée until smooth.
  4. Transfer to a small saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until thickened, about 2 minutes. Transfer purée to a large bowl, stir in orange zest, and reserved berries and toss to combine.
  5. Proceed with normal pie crust preparation and top your bottom crust with all of the banana slices, and pack firmly.  Place in freezer while you roll out top crust.  When top crust is finished, pour cranberries over banana slices, top with crust and bake at 425F for 15 minutes, then 45 minutes at 350F.  Allow to cool for at least half an hour to an hour before slicing.

50 Comments on “Mostly Cranberry Pie

  1. Holy WOW, so wonderful, you see I am a HUGE fan of the cranberry and anything with cranberry is tops in my book. Love your pie, as Sonal said you are the Queen, this is fantastic!!

  2. Sue you are truly the master of all things pie! How in the world can you have so many delicious pies around all of the time and stay so fit? It must be the pie diet. And bananas with the cranberries?! Genius!

    • I really don’t each much pie Tracy, I guess it’s kind of a weird thing I make a s***load of pies and yet I’d rather have a double burger than a slice of pie. Also I give a lot away, to my local baristas, friends, neighbors, family. The hub is the only one who has the daily dose and he runs like a demon. Thanks for hosting again!!!

      • ah ha! So smart and so generous to share so many beautiful pies! I’m with you on the burger though! 😉

  3. I’m glad you stayed on the wagon long enough to give us this beautiful pie. Cranberries don’t get used in enough interesting ways, and this is a brilliant and original use of them.

  4. Oh my goodness. I think i have to make this pie. You made it at the perfect time! I’m so doing this! Loving your baking streak.

  5. WOW this is just amazzzziiinnngg… I’m with Angie, this is award-winning. Picture perfect, and I bet it tastes amazing!! Those flavors just sound ridiculously good, thanks for bringing this to the party, it’s perfect!

    • Thank you for the enthusiastic response Stephanie and many thanks for hosting again this week!!!!!!

      • HA yes…. I get a bit excited on Fiesta Friday, no doubt about it, but pie gets me excited too 😉 Happy to co-host Sue!!: )

  6. Yes, cranberries are “bracingly tart” as you describe here. These pictures are beautiful! You should make delicious pies like this for the rest of your life!

  7. What a great idea to pair tart juicy cranberries with soft sweet bananas. And in a pie. Genius, Sue, oh Queen of Tarts! And gorgeous pictures!!

  8. I love deep dish pies full of fruit and flavor, once again beautiful and delicious looking! (big fan of your photography)

    • Oh, don’t, the best pies usually are the most unremarkable, looks wise! Good ol pumpkin for Thanksgiving can’t be beaten!

  9. I can almost hear the pie whispering at me, Sue – take a bite… eat me… or you can take me all. 😀 This looks so heavenly and the photos are just gorgeous gorgeous. ❤

  10. Don’t get off the pie wagon, apart from fun you must be eating sooooo deliciously! Oh I don’t skimp on sugar/honey when I make pies/cakes with fruit, but I sort of tell the dieting conscious that I have put very little in,…..

  11. Is this real?!?! This looks amazing… I love the photos! And you have a beautiful blog!

    • Thanks Caitlin, yes it is real!!!! I was pretty pleased with the look even though the first version was almost too tart to eat! Thank you for the nice compliment and I can’t wait to check out your blog!

Leave a Reply

