Pork Pie Now For Sale

 

Well, that was fun.  You may remember my little post about winning at the KCRW Good Food 6th Annual Pie Contest with the Beer Braised Pork Pie that I named after our blogging friend Mr. Fitz and using Huckleberry Cookbook’s recipe for Beer Braised Pork.  I thought I might never spend 3 days on a pie again (braise pork, boil down braising liquid, marinate pork in Bud Light Reduction Sauce overnight, make pie, bake pie, let pie sit overnight to set), but I did.  In fact, I just spent the last 2 days braising pork butts and shoulders to make beer braised pork pies at the invitation of my friend Oliver Woolley, who sells heritage pork (a Mangalitsa cross breed) at our local farmer’s market.  He thought they might sell well.  Yeah, they did.  Gone in less than an hour and I have orders for next week.

first pie sale 2 (1 of 5)

The “Free Samples” Pie

porcus optimus (2 of 3)

Oliver Woolley of Peads & Barnetts

first pie sale 3 (1 of 4)

Me & Oliver

first pie sale 2 (4 of 5)

These Little Piggies Went Into the Fridge Overnight

first pie sale 2 (5 of 5)

Ready to Slice

first pie sale 3 (2 of 4)

Proud Pork Pie Pusher

first pie sale 3 (3 of 4)

Pork & Proteas

My tentative plan is to make this classic pork pie each week and then a “wild card” pork pie, and a seasonal veg + pork pie per week.  Please send your fun ideas for pork pie my way!  I’ll name a pie after you!

Have a great weekend, I’m going out for dinner!

 

13 Comments on “Pork Pie Now For Sale

  1. Oh Sue, thats wonderful. You are in the pie business now. I think thats great and your pies look incredible. I am posting this week a recipe for miso glazed root vegetables that I am making with chicken thighs with coriander. I think the miso glazed roots would go really nice with pork. How about a pie using those flavors. It’s seasonal, you could use whatever root vegetables you like.

  2. Hey congratulations and what fun at the same time! Thats so exciting! I’ll be thinking about pork pie names. If I have a moment I’ll do a brainstorming with myself 🙂

    • Oh and pork pie combinations you mean. Pork with apple. Pork with beer and cranberry. Pork with beer and mustard. They are my 3 ideas 🙂

      • Totally on the money, those ideas. Same as ours!!! Mike wants a pork bourgignon too!!!

      • The 2nd and 3rd idea are French. I have a Northern French / Belgian recipe book, and this weekend I made some chicken in beer, turned out so creamy and amazing. So those ideas were inspired from recipes I was browsing 🙂

  3. You have to go for a classic english…ooh oohhh. and a smoked pork, turkey and stuffing.. with cranberries on top..

Leave a Reply

