All Carrot Meal

Here’s a meal where you’ll get more than your adequate RDA for Vitamin A:  Roasted Carrot Grilled Cheese, Carrot Top Soup, and Roasted Carrot Cake for dessert.


Carrots (1 of 10)

I realize this meal is a little over the top and odd, but it wouldn’t be a birgerbird post without being off kilter in one way or another, right?  Right.

Which reminds me, in my response to my mother’s question to me last week (we were explaining to her that we have gone off coffee and have been drinking tea  . . . .  and bone broth with miso some times in the mornings), “Do you think you’ll ever just be . . . . like . . . normal?”,  . . . Well (laughter) NO.

Which reminds me to ask you, what is normal?  Or . . . what do most people mean by normal, do they mean when they say normal to say  . . . . like everybody else, or like “most people?”  Just wondering.

Go ahead and march to your own drummer, I give you permission!  Find something you like to do and have fun with it and don’t worry about what other people think.  Life’s too short!

 

Carrots (2 of 10)

Carrots (3 of 10)

Carrots (6 of 10)

Carrots (7 of 10)

 

Carrots (9 of 10)

Carrots (10 of 10)

roasted (1 of 8)

roasted (5 of 8)

roasted (6 of 8)

roasted (7 of 8)

roasted (8 of 8)

 

With a Jack O’ Lantern, Carrot Marmalade and Labneh of course.

roasted 2 (1 of 3)

roasted 2 (3 of 3)

To Roast Carrots:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Cut 2 lbs carrots into uniform pieces; I like to leave them quite large for a nice meaty, umami, sweet mouthful.  Toss with enough olive oil to coat all of the carrot pieces, as well as about 1 tsp sea salt.

For a savory use such as in salad or a grilled cheese, add spices of choice.  I favor cumin seed with carrot.

Roast carrots for 1 hour for large pieces, then lower heat to 200F for an additional hour.  For smaller pieces, simply gage the doneness of the carrot by piercing with a fork.  You want carrots that are all the way soft and deeply caramelized on the surface.

For the grilled cheese:

Simply line your carrot pieces between two slices of bread and top with your cheese of choice.  I like jack and cheddar with carrot but swiss, provolone or even mozzarella would work well I am certain.  Butter or oil both sides of bread and sauté in a pan coated with olive oil or butter over medium high heat until cheese is melted.

For the soup, sauté one chopped leek in butter or olive oil over medium heat until translucent.  Add a chopped clove of garlic and salt and pepper.  Transfer to large stock or soup pot and add carrot tops and enough broth to cover, along with one apple, cored and halved, 1 Tbsp chopped fresh ginger and salt.  Bring to boil, then lower to simmer for about an hour.  When cooled, puree in batches with 1 bunch of fresh spinach (to add bright green color) and the juice of 1 lemon.  Correct seasoning and serve!

Just for fun I cut two long pieces of bread into long triangle shapes, coated them with olive oil and turmeric, and fried in some melting cheese to make the bread really orange (and cheesy of course).  Then I proceeded with adding carrots, etc.

For the cake:

I really winged it with this one; simply use your favorite banana bread or carrot cake recipe and substitute roasted carrots.  I took my roasted carrots and pureed them with the oil called for in the recipe.  I also left a few whole pieces for textural and visual effect.

Have a wonderful weekend!!

Many thanks to Margy at La Petite Casserole and JHuls at The Not So Creative Cook for hosting this week’s Fiesta Friday and of course thank you to Angie at the Novice Gardener for making this party possible week after week!

 

 

38 Comments on “All Carrot Meal

  1. I marvel at how creative you can be with something as common as carrots. Roasted carrots for a carrot cake – now that’s a carrot cake I want to make. Beautiful photos as always!

    • Thank you Hilda, I got the inspiration from a roasted carrot salad that they carry at Huckleberry and I posted a while back and I love the taste and meatiness of the carrots so much I decided to see what they would be like in a cake. Works very well I must say. We ate it really quickly.

  2. Are there still normal people? I mean, I think we all have this weird stuff we love to do. Mmm, recently, I discovered putting a spoonful of sundae on the burger is awesome… well, it works for me. 😀 When I take a bite, instead of putting ketchup, I put a sundae. Anyway, not normal stuffs makes us feel more alive and happy. 🙂 Great story, Sue. Love the dish as well… and those carrots are beautiful.

  3. I’m in love with this carrot meal. I love that sandwich, and can only imagine how delicious it tastes. Your photos are absolutely beautiful, Sue. I wish I had that talent…

    You are totally brilliant. I love how you fried the bread in melting cheese to make the bread orange… Katie and I are heading to the farmers market tomorrow…and last weekend, they had some gorgeous carrots. I’m hoping that they’re there again this weekend, because I’m totally making that sandwich. And carrot top soup? I can honestly say that I’ve never tasted a carrot top…but you know what? Count me in. I’m trying that too. Craziness.. LOVE it. ❤

    So…normal. Yeah. I hear you. I'm not kidding when I say that I just had this "normal" conversation this morning with one of my co-workers. She was telling me how her and her sister cleaned their mom's living room about an hour after their dad passed away. And she said "Well, as far as families go…we are not normal"…. and I responded "What exactly is normal? Normal is what you are…how you live your life. It's normal. It might not be normal to someone else, because they're living their "normal" life". Nobody is normal…only to themselves…and then, sometimes that's questionable!!

    • Dear Prudence, won’t you come out to play? (I’m singing again). Love your comment and you! Now, let me know how that carrot meal goes!!

  4. Haha! I love the idea of a themed meal! Your recipes look outstanding, and since I am a real Bugs Bunny at heart, the whole meal really strikes a chord with me! Yum! 😀

  5. That sandwich in that soup, is making me incredibly hungry even though I had dinner a short while ago Sue! You make the most wonderful use of basic ingredients! Amazing!!

  6. I am sure you’ve heard how do you know you don’t like it unless you try it right? I love getting all kinds of ideas, and while I would never have come up with this, I love the ideas they invoke!

  7. Such creative ideas and a beautiful presentation of the dishes. Would have never thought of adding an apple in the soup, but it seems like a great idea! The cake looks divine too, I’ll try my carrot cake with roasted carrots next time…

  8. Hahahaaa ! The normal ! I agree with you Sue. Life is too short so do your own drums…my blessings as well ;).
    Loved the meal there. The best bet for me is roasted carrot cake :).

  9. These all look really good, nothing wrong with going carrot crazy! It’s good for your eyes haha! My mum often says to me “can’t you make anything normal flavoured” when I tell her what I’m baking, she always eats them though!

  10. And while you ate your all carrot meal were you watching Carrot Top? Well, ok, maybe not. Seriously love your carrot creativity. I bet your eyesight was perfect after this. The carrots are beautiful as are the photo’s that carrot sandwich has me drooling.

  11. I love everything about this recipe! Triple threat, carrot style…just fantastic. And I don’t think there is such a thing as “normal.” “Conventional” or “traditional” are better terms to use, I think. 🙂

    • Triple carrot threat, love that! And thank you Ms. thesaurus for the alternate words! Have a great rainy Sunday . . . perfect day for sipping tea and staring out the window. btw I’m not sure exactly where you live in LA but you must try to get to Gjusta right away, it’s on Sunset in Venice about 3 miles from my house, opened by the chef and baker at Gjelina. It’s a total omg food emporium!!!! Great pastries!!!!

  12. You certainly have come up with some great ways to use carrots – I love cooking with the colors of the rainbow! I always have room in my garden to grow some. Very impressive pictures – the colors really stand out 🙂

    • Thank you! The purple carrots didn’t turn out too purple when cooked but all the other colors were still intact!

    • Sure, inspiration was a little cafe we used to go to (now closed) that made a carrot top pesto.

  13. You see how many creative we can be even with just simple ingredients? The key is being as talented as you are! love tho post Sue! Thanks for being at FF, hope you’ll have a great Sunday!

  14. I love your idea of making a carrot theme and these all look fabulous. I’ll try sneaking some carrots into my daughter’s grilled cheese. I think she would eat all of these recipes (the cake for sure…). What do you think about roasting the carrots at the beginning of the week and using them later? Ideally I would roast them right before using them, but I go to the farmer’s market on Sunday and like to prep veggies for the week. This usually involves just cleaning and maybe a bit of chopping but not much roasting (except for tomatoes). Thanks for the great ideas as always.

  15. I happen to have these 3 sort of carrots in my kitchen! Ooh yes! All very tasty looking recipes! Yummmm!
    Georgous cool pictures too! x

  16. Absolutely beautiful pictures! Also, the dishes look delicious! Thank you birgerbird! You have another very cool food entry here!

  17. It all looks delicious, Sue! I once made a meal entirely based on lemons. It was a very sour meal, but enjoyable still. Normal is all in the eyes of the beholder, right? Drum on!

Leave a Reply

