No Nonsense Buttermilk Pancakes

Dad's Pancakes (11 of 11)

I haven’t really eaten many pancakes as an adult but I have fond memories of enjoying my mom’s bisquick pancakes once a week.  They were always screaming hot, slightly tangy, fluffy and served straight up with butter and syrup.  No berries or nuts on top, no bananas or pumpkin mixed into the batter.  Just good old pancakes.

As you may recall, I am cooking my way through Zoe Nathan’s Huckleberry cookbook so when I ran into her “My Dad’s Pancakes” early on in my journey, when I was still doing one recipe per day, I was excited to try my hand at homemade scratch pancakes for the first time.  As an added motivation, last month on the rare occasion that I actually visited the Huckleberry Cafe on my own for breakfast, they were actually filming her father making these very pancakes!  So after my scone and latte I went home to make pancakes, for lunch.  They turned out fantastically wholesome tasting, simple, clean and delicious.

For this adaptation I have simply soured the milk and let the batter sit overnight to develop some complexity, and I like that version only slightly better than if you were to take this recipe and use plain whole milk.  Do make these right away, they are so very good!  And just a bit of advice to all my Fiesta Friday gang:  if you have dawdling-to-the-table eaters in your family (like I do), you may want to do like I do and tell them to come to the table before the pancakes are ready and serve them some hot chocolate or some bacon, because the pancakes are just not as wildly good after they’ve sat at room temperature for even a couple of minutes!  I am somewhat of a bossy pants when it comes to certain dishes and this is one of those times.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 4 tsp sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

Preparation:

  1. Split and scrape vanilla bean into milk and bring to gentle boil, then immediately remove from heat.  Cool completely and add lemon juice.  Let steep for a few hours and then strain.
  2. Mix together flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda.  Add egg yolks, milk and butter.  Let mixture sit overnight in a covered bowl in your refrigerator.
  3. The next morning, bring batter to room temperature.  Beat egg whites in a stand mixer or with a hand held mixer on medium setting for 3 – 4 minutes.  Gently fold egg whites into batter.
  4. Preheat griddle or nonstick skillet over medium high heat.  The griddle or pan is ready when a few droplets of water sizzle and dance across the surface.
  5. Drop 1/2 cup batter onto griddle or skillet.  When bubbles set on the surface and the bottom is golden, flip and cook for 1 minute.  Serve immediately with butter and syrup.

Dad's Pancakes (7 of 11)

 

63 Comments on “No Nonsense Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Just the way I like them, simple, classic pancakes. Delicious. My Mom used to make them for dinner sometimes, It’s funny I rarely eat pancakes now but love them.

    • Yes, nothing fancy pants about this recipe but it is wonderful. Thanks for your thoughts as always Suzanne!

  2. Your pancakes look fantastic, Sue and how exciting to see them being made and filmed too…I make pancakes most weekends – they have become a bit of a ritual now. I also like to make the batter up the night before – those bubbles are very important to how they puff up!!

    • Thank you Selma, it’s nice to have those rituals on the weekends, I’m sure your son will appreciate later even more than he does now!

  3. Yay! I love my batter to be sleeping in the fridge for the night, Sue. Your pancakes look amazing!! 🙂 Happy FF!

  4. Incredibly delicious, tasty and hearty! Have to go the deep woods now and chop seven big cords of maple wood! Good bye!

  5. I had quite forgotten about Bisquick, but I too was brought up on the stuff. Interesting how things have come around again, and we end up with beautiful recipes like this one.

  6. They look great! I like my pancakes to have a slightly soured taste to them, too, so thanks for the great ideas!

  7. Wow, Sue! How cool that you are cooking your way through the whole cookbook! I truly admire your energy. Your pancakes look divine. Thanks so much for sharing your ingenuity with us at FF! 😀

    • well it’s just lemon juice to the milk; otherwise use buttermilk. I just don’t like paying for buttermilk at the store! Thanks Michael!

  8. Believe or not I made buttermilk pancakes yesterday for breakfast and I’ve declared buttermilk the best ingredients for making pancakes! I’m going to try next time with your proportions of ingredients! Hope you’ll have a great we Sue!

    • Oh great Margy! I found that the extra step of mixing in the egg whites separately really made a difference!

  9. Pancakes have always been a big part of my breakfasts – from my Mom making them with Bisquick and to my homemade pancakes for Gene! Always a good start to the day (usually on weekends) with some maple syrup and maybe a piece of bacon or two 🙂

  10. Omg these pancakes look perfectly fluffy and grilled. I want to reach in and eat them right now! Beautiful. I’ve found that I’ve been coming back to pancakes more now. Such a great way to start a weekend.

  11. Bisquick was a staple in my house too. I am falling back in love with pancakes and everything you can do with them. They are so hearty for breakfast and so comforting for dinner. Beautiful photos!

  12. I normally have buttermilk in the refrigerator to use in curries. But making the cream fraiche is a bidi idea and non adulterated with any synthetics or stabilizers. I will have to try this overnight recipe for pancake. Very appetizing clicks Sue.

    • Thanks Sonal I find that folding in the egg whites makes a huge difference . . . for special occasions!

  13. Haha I’m also a bossy pants with some dishes so as to enjoy it hot / warm as it should be! I’ve always made pancakes just before making them (sorry, I’m expressing myself like I’m stupid) as in I’ve never let it sit the night before. I will try it though as I’m sure it will taste amazing like that!

  14. Pancakes are my most favorite breakfast, EVER! And buttermilk pancakes are the best! I have kids, so we do pancakes fairly often. Btw, Sue, would you be able to co-host FF39 with Suzanne @apuginthekitchen ?

      • Thanks! You and Suzanne, then. And Sue, just to give you a heads up, it’s a special FF. I’ll be celebrating my birthday, so don’t rely on me to bring anything to the party. I’m the birthday girl! 🙂 Yoi can let Suzanne know.

      • I completely lost touch with Catherine. We were brainstorming about the next challenge and she offered to find sponsors but then we both got busy. Now I’m not sure if I should have another challenge without Catherine involved. Don’t want to upset anyone. I guess I was hoping she’d be more active.

Leave a Reply

