Potato Pie with Cornbread Sorghum Crust

This dish was born out of an excess of cornbread that was threatening to spoil, as well as a massive delivery of little fingerling spuds.  A few months back I’d come across the wonderful novelty (at least to me) of sorghum — specifically, sorghum flour and sorghum syrup.  Intrigued with it’s almost smoky molasses-like sweetness, I began using the syrup on pancakes and the flour in cakes and muffins, and then cornbread.  The cornbread turned out wonderfully well, but was so dense and rich that we could only eat little chunks at a time.  As a massive hunk set on our counter flirting with mold, I finally broke it into pieces and mixed it with butter and pressed it into a springform pan for a crust.  I sliced up my potatoes medium-thick, sautéed them briefly in (more) butter, then layered them into the pan.  Topped with a mix of raw heavy cream, 1 egg, and salt and into the oven at 375F for about 45 minutes.  Addictive, rich, buttery and perfect for dinner with a side salad!

sorghum cornbread (1 of 10)

First, the cornbread

11 (1 of 1)

10 (1 of 1)

9 (1 of 1)

7 (1 of 1)

6 (1 of 1)

4 (1 of 1)

3 (1 of 1)Happy Fiesta Friday to all partiers and thank you once again to Angie over at the Novice Gardener for creating this fantastic weekly even that I look forward to each week, and to our co-hosts this week.

 

46 Comments on “Potato Pie with Cornbread Sorghum Crust

  1. Just love how creative you are in the kitchen, Sue. I would have just tossed the cornbread (sadly) but now I know I can make it into a potato pie crust!

    • Thanks Ngan, I always take old bread and either turn it into bread pudding or croutons or breadcrumbs! Thanks for visiting today. Happy granola weekend!

    • Thanks Hilda it really helps to have good dishes (I just recently bought the springform pans and some pie pans, etc.). I cook so much and we are a small family so once I hand off samples to my mom and dad, we’re stuck with a glut of food, so it’s out of necessity and distaste for waste that I come up with these hair brained ideas!

    • Yes, and obviously you can easily do it without the crust altogether. In fact, if he likes potatoes that way you’ll just get morel potato!!!

  2. Happy Fiesta Friday, my lovely Sue! Where do I begin? I have to admit…that as I was making my way through the crowd of recipes…I noticed yours about 10 photos down the list. I have this thing about going in order when I’m co-hosting FF… so I really had to fight the urge to skip down to your photo! I kept looking at it…wondering… scalloped potatoes maybe? What a delight to see this gorgeous potato pie. It looks so delicious! I’ve never used sorghum…but you really have me wanting to try it, because I want to make this pie. This is a wonderful Fall weather meal. Pure comfort…but then again, coming from my Sue..that’s pure comfort in itself. LOVE it, LOVE you. ❤

    • You’re such a doll, Prudy, I’m heading to the airport to get on a plane to come visit you. I’ll bring the potato pie and lots of other goodies (I wish!). I do the same thing! BTW, did you change blogs to a self-hosted? I hope you have an awesome Sunday!

      • Oh yay! I hope you’re planning on staying for a while!
        Yes, I just did make the switch. I started about three weeks ago, could not figure it out to save my life, And ended up giving my laptop to Katie’s friend to help me set the site up! I just got my laptop back a couple of days ago… And I’m still learning the ropes!!

  3. You know, Sue, I do love potatoes! 😀 so, I’m craving for your pie! What a wonderful idea to make corn-crust, bookmarking.. Hope, you’re enjoying the rest of the weekend! 🙂

  4. Oh wow, this looks amazing, Sue. So creative and yet so simple. I love pies but never really make them myself, I always feel they are so much work. This one sounds great though. Lovely photos as well!! 🙂 Have a great day!

    • Thank you, I don’t know what happened but I’ve been in a real pie stage recently! Must be fall upon us! You have a great week as well!

  5. Oh wow, I could totally imagine this being served at a fancy restaurant, Sue. And to think you thought it up just like that! 🙂

  6. I made it & loved every bite, so did my husband Peter! Divine is the word,…even superb! x

Leave a Reply

