Beer Braised Pork on Toast With Egg

Hilda, this one’s for you!

As most of you know I have been cooking my way through Zoe Nathan Loeb’s Huckleberry Cookbook; so far it’s been 13 days since publication and I’ve made 13 dishes.  I’m on a roll!  Obviously since these recipes are in a book not authored by me, it’s not kosher to include recipes in my posts about the dishes I’ve made . . . however, in response to Hilda’s comment on my last gallery post of Huckleberry recipes, I’ve got to spotlight this beer braised pork dish.  It’s so easy you barely have to do anything!

Here’s the idea:

First, get a butt or shoulder or pork and put a dry rub on it.  The recipe called for a combo of cumin, coriander, cardamom, paprika for the most part, but of course you could use any dry rub.  beer braised pork 2 (9 of 12)

beer braised pork 2 (12 of 12)

Brown the pork on all sides, not just top and bottom, and don’t be afraid of seeing some dark brown!

beer braised pork 2 (3 of 12)

beer braised pork 2 (2 of 12)

While your pork is relaxing in its rub and then browning, take a couple of onions, slice medium, toss with oil and salt, and place in a 500 F oven for 1/2 hour.  Don’t be afraid of burnt onion.

After onions are done, add your pork to a dutch oven with the onions and a couple of bottles of light beer.  Do not use dark beer because you’ll be reducing the sauce.  Throw in 2 bay leaves also.  If you need to add stock or water so that the meat is 3/4 submerged, do so.

beer braised pork 4 (1 of 1)

beer braised pork (1 of 1)

Cook in a 300 F oven for 4 – 6 hours then let cool overnight in the fridge.

Next day (I let mine sit for 2 nights) skim the fat, remove the meat and shred, and cook down the sauce by half.

beer braised pork (1 of 14)

Return the meat to the dutch oven and reduce heat to low.  Let meat cook for about 10 minutes.

beer braised pork (14 of 14)

Toast a couple of pieces of bread, fry a couple of eggs, and assemble dish:  toast, pork, egg.  It’s divine!

beer braised pork (2 of 14)

beer braised pork (7 of 14)

beer braised pork (12 of 14)

 

25 Comments on “Beer Braised Pork on Toast With Egg

  1. Thanks so much Sue. I was just wishing this morning, as it pours rain outside and I feel like cooking, that this pork recipe would appear, and was not too hopeful. You must have read my mind. My husband gets back from his trip on Tuesday, so I should have this ready to celebrate his return, and anyway, I don’t think I’d make all this just for myself! Will let you know how it goes.

  2. Whoa, this dish looks so delicious! The blue bud light beer can in the photo is funny…thank you for a great culinary post Birgerbird!

  3. Wow! what a lovely breakfast you prepared here, sounds like a great book. Just watched Julie and Julia last night.

  4. oh hey it’s done in the dutch oven? I’ll plan ahead in time (you let it set 2 nights!) and try this one too. xx

  5. Oh wow does that look good. I got my book, have been thumbing through it and I am in love with the whole book, the photo’s the recipes everything. I could eat that dish you made for breakfast, lunch or dinner or all three.

  6. Ahhhh, so hungry now Sue!! It’s a gorgeous dish. Off to Amazon now to check for this cookbook…you’ve definitely done it justice! 🙂

    • Thanks Bonnie I am one who has literally maybe 250 cookbooks and i never cook strictly from them…this one i just adore ….and she has a very good sense of humor and tells lots of stories!

      • I easily have the same number of cookbooks too, Sue! They are my prized possessions. Gosh, we really must meet up sometime soon…we’ll have so much to talk about! 😉

      • I would love to . . . I am currently not working . . . I mean in the capacity I have been for the past 25 years in an office 9 – 5 so I have a real flexible schedule. Would love to meet you for tea and tea education!

    • yes it was; you pull apart the pork but I left it more in hunks than in shreds. My parents commented that you could make tacos, burritos, sandwiches, anything. It is soooo good and soooo easy.

  7. This looks soooo good. I’m a firm believer that an egg just makes everything that much better…especially when poached. It also means you can eat it for breakfast too. I love that you’re cooking your way through this book.

  8. I must let you know what a success this dish was when I made it. I admit some disobedience – I used a ‘full’ beer, and the sauce was delicious all the same. I also used sumac in the rub along with the other spices, and powdered pine needles instead of bay leaves, but for the rest followed the instructions. Very easy recipe. Will do an encore.

  9. Fantastic appetizing pictures, my friend! Waw even! This must be so delicious too! 🙂 MMMM!
    I can’t wait to make it too!

Leave a Reply

