Miso Glazed Fish from Easy Gourmet

This is another very simple but stunningly flavorful, umami-lade dish from Stephanie Le’s Easy Gourmet.  I noticed right away that the recipe is similar to the famous one I’ve seen over and over again from Nobu Matsuhisa for his miso marinated black cod, in that most of the ingredients are the same (mirin, sake, miso and sugar), but whereas Nobu uses what to me seems a wasteful amount of miso and other ingredients for the marinade, which is then ultimately thrown away, Stephanie is much more judicious.  And I noticed that the fish was much less “soggy” than the Nobu version I’ve made.  In short, Mike and I both loved it and I will be making it again and again.

I made the recipe with salmon instead of cod, because, frankly, salmon was on sale and cod was almost prohibitively expensive.  Also, instead of baking and then broiling the fish, after marinating I pan fried it on one side over high heat and finished it in the oven, using a method I learned years ago to make a nice, crisp skin on fish.  I saved the teeny bit of marinade to brush over the fish when it went into the oven. The idea is that you need a good bit of fat (although not quite as much when using salmon, for it has an inherently high fat content) in the pan, you get it screaming hot, almost to the point you would be deep frying, and you set the fish in the pan without moving for about 2 minutes.  The fish is then finished in a low/medium temperature oven so that the flesh is not overcooked.

Even though this shot below is rather darkly and muddily drab in brightness and contrast, you can see the distinct crust that has formed on the fish.  Sometimes if I haven’t removed the skin from the fish I will start the pan fry on the skin side to get a nice crispy skin, flip the fish, fry for 2 minutes on the other side, then finish in the oven but for half the time, as both sides have been seared instead of only one side.
Miso Salmon (1 of 4)

I also marinated a couple of lemon slices and pan fried and baked them along with the fish.  They ended up tasting very good, like a more palatable version of preserved lemons, in that you could eat them straight up rather than use them mainly as flavoring agents.

Miso Salmon (3 of 4)

Miso Salmon (2 of 4)

 

Stephanie’s recipe called to serve the fish with a quinoa salad but I just served a mess of arugula with some beets, pistachios, and charred radicchio and baby romaine on top.

Charred  Leaves (1 of 1)

I hope you all enjoy this dish which I am bringing to Angie’s weekly Fiesta Friday party.  Many thanks, once again, to Angie and all of our talented and spirited co-hosts over these last several months.

 

 

35 Comments on “Miso Glazed Fish from Easy Gourmet

  1. I always learn from your posts. I will try this method next time I cook fish – I really like a good crisp topping but haven’t managed to do it with fish like salmon. Thanks.

    • thanks Hilda and thank you so much for featuring the grape and fig pie and your supportive and kind words! I always learn so much from you too. In fact right now I have unripe dates and was thinking I’m sure you’ve done something with them before, no?

  2. If fish had a beauty contest, this would be the winner! Perfect sear…delicious glaze…fabulous sides too. Impressive, Sue. 🙂

    • Haha, thank you. I wonder if it’s related to the fact that I wore make up yesterday . . . which never happens . . . maybe I had the beauty vibe going? Thanks as always Nancy and so happy to hear from you !!!

  3. Oh heck yeah! I love miso-glazed fish, but have only made the Nobu version, too. Miso-glazed cod was one of the entree choices at our wedding reception, so it has a special place in my heart. Plus, it’s delicious! Yummo!

    • Oh, really, that doesn’t surprise me. It’s an elegant, classic dish and I wouldn’t think you would have anything other than classy and elegant at your wedding, although I hope to reflect your humor you had some noodles or something that guests would have to eat slurping from a bowl while standing up, maybe with a book in the other hand? 🙂

      • Well, everyone had to recite a sonnet before they were fed, so does that count? 🙂 Nope, our dinner was rather standard after the miso cod. Your post reminded me I haven’t had salmon in so long…must have soon!

  4. This is beautiful. I love the Nobu-like salmon and the grilled radicchio as a side. Perfect meal. I eat a ton of salmon so this is a great alternative to my usual herb-crusted one. Thank you.

  5. Oh my gosh! I’m not always a fan of fish (because I’m always fearful of that fishy taste), but these, these I can tell that i will love. Miso glazed fish sounds so delicious! Thanks for bringing these to Fiesta Friday and sharing with us, Sue!

    • Dear Andrea, I’m not a huge fan of fish either . . . the other day I was walking and a few British men tourists were right behind me, looking for a place to eat and one mentioned fish tacos, and the other said “I don’t trust fish, they don’t have brains.” But I just don’t really trust our waters these days . . . .

  6. Wow, this is a sight for sore eyes – just beautiful! I love the tips you provided for giving the fish that nice crispy outside and finishing it in the oven – love that you got lemons involved too, and your charred veggies just made the entire meal complete – great job!

  7. Looks fabulous as always! I’ve been trying to eat more fish the last few months. My picky eater never turns her nose up at it and we need more omega 3s in our diet. I’ll try this crispy finish this coming week. Thank you for the tips!

  8. Oooh! Lovely recipe, Sue! We just bought a whole bunch of fresh salmon and are always looking for some other way of cooking it. I will make this for sure. 😀

Leave a Reply

