Berry Brioche + Monte Cristo

I didn’t plan on another recipe with purple, but that’s what happened.  My Huckleberry book arrived yesterday and even though I swore the first recipe I’d make was for the “super cheesy rye biscuits” that have long been unavailable at Milo & Olive, Zoe’s restaurant and cafe where they first appeared and where I fell in love with these savories that she admitted she fashioned after a cheez-it, flavor wise.  But the cover image of the blueberry-swirled brioche kept haunting me, after all I’d never made a brioche dough before, and a quick inventory of my kitchen ingredients proved that I actually had everything I needed to make this stunning bread.

As you probably know, brioche is a rich bread because it contains quite a bit of butter, as well as egg, but the texture is light as a feather, so you don’t really feel heavy the way you may after a hunk of, say, dense sourdough or whole grain bread.  At least that’s what I found after eating several pieces . . . before noon.

It was really quite an easy bread to make and appeared first thing in the morning, hot out of the oven, plain, as well as later in the day as toast, and then finally as a Monte Cristo sandwich for dinner.

I am in a danger zone right now, with the Easy Gourmet and Huckleberry books at my fingertips, and with the parallel goals of cooking through both books in their entirety.  There is a lot of good food happening in this house, and not enough mouths to eat it.

I was not entirely thrilled with the photographs, as I shot in the middle of the night under the harshest of overhead fluorescent kitchen light for many of the process shots . . . still learning!

Blueberry Brioche (20 of 20)

Blueberry Brioche (19 of 20)

Blueberry Brioche (13 of 20)

Blueberry Brioche (11 of 20)

Blueberry Brioche (8 of 20)

Blueberry Brioche (3 of 20)

 

Then on to the Monte Cristo, a decadent sandwich made with ham, gruyere, and three slices of buttered and mustarded brioche.  The entire sandwich gets dunked in an egg/heavy cream custard that’s been steeped  with a sage leaf, then fried on every single side (not just top and bottom).  This is one of those “once a year” sandwiches, not really your weekly go-to.  But I highly advise making it soon for a special occasion.  It’s really worth the effort because it tastes so good.

Monte Cristo (9 of 14)

Monte Cristo (11 of 14)

Monte Cristo (13 of 14)

21 Comments on “Berry Brioche + Monte Cristo

    • Thank you Elaine, I was totally tickled with how well it turned out, and I discovered what’s called the “baker’s nap.” you get up in the middle of the night to re-form the bread, then allow it to proof for 3 hours. then you get up 3 hours later to put it in the oven so it’s fresh at about 6 a.m. then you take a nap at 2 p.m.!!!

  1. OMG that bread….for real? Gorgeous! And the Monte Cristo, yum. I love the addition of berries and color to things. It adds so much flavor. Yum. I love falling in love with a new cookbook (or two!). Looks delicious.

    • thank you thank you! When it turned out well and I presented it piping hot and fresh from the oven to my husband at 7 a.m. I felt on top of the world!!

    • Thank you Chitra, it was really soft and fluffy, exactly! Not too rich tasting, especially considering all the butter that went into it!!!

  2. Oh wow that bread looks incredible and I love the Monte Cristo, it is one of my all time favorite sandwiches, I’ll have to get that cookbook because I always thought brioche was complicated. Looks so good!

  3. Beautiful, florescent lights or not! I will not be getting the Huckleberry book, though I love the food, because hubby would have a fit if I started cooking all the beautiful breads and sugary recipes from it. I will just have to visually eat them through your photos, Sue. Looks like a delicious bread!

  4. Wowowow Mouthwatering photos! Scrumptious bread!
    I’ve seen Huckleberry book at the local store, pics are really beautiful.. could you tell me pls- the majority of recipes are desserts or savory dishes?

Leave a Reply

