Beetburger

Are you ever motivated to cook a particular dish or sauce based upon its color, or pair certain foods together based upon an imagined aesthetic, how it would look plated or photographed?  I have to admit that, although I am firstly interested in taste, after that I think food is sort of a visual playground for me.  Admittedly I have more time on my hands right now than when I was working . . . all day, every day, so that could be a factor in my recent unusual creations.  But I do have a streak of silliness that runs through my cooking, no doubt about it.  The one thing I won’t do, however, is assemble little bits and pieces of foods like a painting, which is what I’m seeing a lot in restaurants these days . . . I want a full plate of food, not little bits and pieces!

Beets (1 of 1)

Beets From Jaime Farms

Let’s take beets, for example, aren’t they beautiful when sliced open?

Purple Basil From Thao's

Purple Basil From Thao’s

How about Purple Basil?  Not only is is vibrant in color, but it’s also a bit more peppery than Italian green basil.  Wouldn’t it make a fabulous pesto, on top of something sweet, made with beets.  Say, a jewel-toned beet burger?

I really winged this burger, not consulting any recipes but relying on intuition and refrigerator odds and ends.  I had some spoonfuls of dark baba that needed to be terminated, as well as a load of carrots that I needed to make headway with that arrived over the weekend in my CSA box.

So then, to some grated, strained and pressed carrot and beet (and beet stalk — no waste here!) I added a couple of eggs, the last of the baba, toasted cumin seed, salt and pepper, sriracha and walnut oil.  In went breadcrumbs made from two old heels of Bezan’s bakery 12 grain natural levain bread, formed into patties . . . but in a biscuit cutter, in a skillet (to hold round shape).  I browned the beetburgers, released the biscuit cutter and finished them in a 375 F oven for about 25 minutes.  One burger we topped with pesto and tucked into a sourdough poppy bagel from Red Bread, the other we served fussy/paleo style . . . that is, no bread.  Since I don’t really roll with measurements unless I’m baking bread or cakes, please recognize that you’ll have to go with your instincts on the recipe  . . . . what you’re looking for is something that feels like a raw hunk of hamburger would in your hand . . . you want it to hold together somewhat well, but since you’ll end up with, at best, a fairly wet and loose patty, get out your biscuit cutter or a makeshift round shape such as a jar lid, to hold your patties in place while they brown.  The pesto recipe will come with another post.

Mix (1 of 1)

Mix close (1 of 1)

Bread Crumbs (1 of 1)

Cooking (1 of 1)

Uncovered (1 of 1)

Paleo Style Best (1 of 1)

Best Burger  (1 of 1)

Paleo Style Above (1 of 1)

 

Beetburger

Ingredients:

  • 2 beets, grated in a food processor
  • 1 carrot, grated in a food processor
  • 2 Tbsp baba ganoush
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1 Tbsp walnut oil
  • 1 tsp sriracha
  • 1 tsp toasted cumin seeds
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 Tbsp ghee, olive oil or other fat of choice

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. After grating carrot and beets, strain and press with a fork, potato masher or your hands through a strainer held over a bowl to rid the vegetables of their juice.  Drink the juice, too, or throw it into a salad dressing . . . don’t throw it away!
  3. To the strained vegetables, add the rest of the ingredients and mix well with hands.  Adjust as needed with breadcrumbs so that mixture will hold together somewhat well.
  4. Heat ghee over medium heat in a non stick or cast iron skillet and place two biscuit cutters into the pan.  Spoon and pack beet mixture into the biscuit cutters and allow to brown for about 2 – 3 minutes.  With tongs, remove the biscuit cutters and place pan in oven for about 25 minutes.
  5. Serve with buns, bagels, or on a bed of greens with your condiments of choice.  Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

13 Comments on “Beetburger

  1. I am always driven by seasonality and taste and then the visual. But I do think that they all seem to harmonise quite well anyway – unless I am subconsciously picking out seasonal ingredients that will look good together…hmm….Nigella always comments (both on the telly and in her books) on the colour of things which probably has made me more aware.

    I love how odds and ends and the CSA box can come together as beautifully and deliciously as your beet burger has. Some of the tastiest meals have come about this way! I love your blue rimmed mixing bowl and the contrast it makes with yolk and shredded vegetables. The photo with the seeded bagel, second from the end, is just stunning!!

    On another note, book of the month over at The Cookbook Guru is Marcella Hazan’s Classic Italian – I’ve just been going through my copy and am reminded how simple those recipes are which allows the taste of good quality ingredients to sing. Feeling inspired…

    • I will look at the cb guru; my copy is so splattered I am making the pesto with green beans and potato today from her book such a classic! Thank you as always for your continued support encouragement and inspiration Selma

  2. LOVE this- and your photos are absolutely GORGEOUS!! I just cut up a yellow watermelon from my CSA share- ate a couple of bites & then said to my husband, “Seems like this is so special I should make some sort of cocktail for the blog with it!” 🙂 What a pretty photo is would take!! 🙂

  3. This recipe has it all – colour, flavour, texture. Will have to give this, or something like it, a try.

    • Yes do try something like this. I used the leftover beet “meat” tonight just warmed up in a pan and tossed with pasta, which was also really good, and a whole lot easier!

  4. This is so beautiful. I made beet burgers once, without the sriracha (yum!!) and it was honestly one of the best things I’ve made. You’re making me want to do them again. I love the spices you use and that you put the babaganoush with it. Your pictures are stunning. I love the poppy bagel shot and the way you sauteed these. Love this post. Here are my beet burgers: http://sercocinera.wordpress.com/2013/07/04/beetroot-burgers-with-halloumi-hot-pepper-jam/ We’ll have to trade.

    • Oh Amanda these are wonderful, I love that you used the smoked paprika and I think the chickpeas probably held your patties together a little better than mine! Also dill is always a winner with me. Thank you so much for this link !

Leave a Reply

