Little Bird Sorghum Flour Pancakes with Graple Syrup

I am nearing the end of my posts with purple foods and therefore it will be time to change background colours again on my blog.  Eggplant, grapes, berries, purple basil, purple peppers, it’s been swell but we’re heading to what I think of as “orange” season — persimmon, butternut and other orange squash, and pumpkin.  Before we do, though I’ve got a couple more purple recipes for you.

I’ve been experimenting a lot with sorghum, both in flour and syrup, and with wild success.  I’ve made a cornbread, a cake and now pancakes with sorghum flour that turned out very moist and sweet without the addition of sugar.  For these pancakes I resorted to “Mike style” to use the remainder of my grapes, so we had raw whole grapes, roasted whole grapes, and grape jam which I turned into a sort of “graple” syrup by adding water to the jam I’d made and a spoonful or two of sorghum syrup.

I’m only including the recipe for the pancakes using sorghum syrup so that you can try working with it.  You can embellish and decorate your pancakes as you see fit depending upon your personal preferences.  Here I cut out a little bird and filled it with jam, poured the pancake batter in, let it set on the stove top, then finished it in the oven.  Yes, I keep myself entertained this way.

pancakes (3 of 48)

Kyoho Grapes, Ready for Jamming

pancakes (5 of 48)

Cooking With Apple (for Pectin)

 

pancakes (48 of 48)

pancakes (31 of 48)

Strained Cooked Grapes

pancakes (40 of 48)

Grape “Juice”

At this point I pureed the juice with the strained skins/pulp and re-boiled with some honey, then set in jars.

Mike Style (5 of 11)

Roasted Red Grapes

Mike Style (3 of 11)

Little Bird Pancake

Mike Style (4 of 11)

An “M” Pancake for Mike Style

Mike Style (8 of 11)

Mike Style (10 of 11)

Mike Style (11 of 11)

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sorghum flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk (you can substitute almond or coconut milk if you like)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, or coconut or vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tablespoon coconut or vegetable oil
  • Toppings of your choice such as maple syrup, berries, bananas, etc.

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 200 degrees; have a cookie sheet ready to keep pancakes warm in the oven.
  • In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together milk, butter (or oil), and egg. Add dry ingredients to milk mixture; whisk until just moistened.
  • Heat a large skillet or griddle over medium. Dab a paper towel in melted oil and rub skillet with towel.
  • For each pancake, spoon 2 to 3 tablespoons of batter onto skillet, using the back of the spoon to spread batter into a round (you should be able to fit 2 to 3 in a large skillet).
  • Cook until a few of the little bubbles begin to break, 1 to 2 minutes. Flip carefully with a thin spatula, and cook until browned on the underside, 1 to 2 minutes more. Transfer to a baking sheet, cover with aluminum foil, and keep warm in oven.
  • Continue with more oil and remaining batter. (You’ll have 12 to 15 small pancakes.) Serve warm, with desired toppings.

 

 

26 Comments on “Little Bird Sorghum Flour Pancakes with Graple Syrup

    • “birger” means helper or “protector” in Scandanavian/Old Norse, and also I love burgers. My nickname for years and years has been “bird” because of my bird legs, so I combined the two.

      • I just read your all about me post, which I should have done in the first place!! Your photo skills have come on leaps and bounds!!

      • thank you but I must give credit to the camera! those old yellow jaundiced photos make me want to hit the “delete” button, but as you say life doesn’t have to be perfect to be wonderful!!!

      • I know, but there is something about those yellow photos, once you know…mine make me feel exactly the same!! And you have to take some credit for your beautiful photos, Sue – the camera isn’t plating up and pressing the button itself!!

  1. I have used sorghum, but only in small amounts to help bind other gf flours. I didn’t realize it was good on its own, so will try that. I love your decorating ideas.

    • Thank you Hilda!!! The research I did said you could use it in place of regular flour, so I tried and so far it’s worked real well. It does make the recipes sweeter, though.

  2. Wow Sue! Your posts are always inspiring. Something new to look forward to. I have used flour in rotis and chapatis in mix with whole wheat. But this is neat :). That bird moong rammed pancake is cute.

  3. I have never used sorghum flour alone, will have to try, Love the grapey syrup. YUM, I have a love affair with grapes. Well, I finally got my concords, jamming tomorrow. YAY! love your bird cutter.

    • Oh my gosh, that jam, even though it was a little runny, was soooooo delicious, I think it’s my favorite by far. Thanks and do give the sorghum flour a try. I made a cake but using yogurt (greek) and it turned out super scrumptious. The cornbread was a little dry but super dense and yummy!

  4. Birgerbird, these “Little Bird” grape pancakes…are the best! Thank you for these beautiful snaps of the grapes and cakes!

Leave a Reply

