Fig and Grape Pie

We are enjoying an abundance of fresh grapes right now in Santa Monica, a true wealth of varieties including ones such as the beautiful, translucent Chasselas Dore (below), “the grape you see in old Dutch Master paintings,” that I have never seen or heard of before.  More often than not, I am moved to cook with ingredients that have an unusual name or pedigree or appearance . . . . however with grapes I also love and will eat a bunch without batting an eyelash of the plain old supermarket variety.And speaking of supermarket variety, this week I found “cotton candy” grapes that, if you can believe it, taste exactly like cotton candy . . . and I don’t really want to know how . . . and also “witches fingers” grapes that are shaped like sharp little cones.  So unusual!

Grape Pie 3 (1 of 14)

 

Grape Pie 3 (2 of 14)

Concord grapes are a particular favorite of mine because of their deep, saturated purple color, and their aroma which takes me straight to childhood and peanut butter and grape jelly sandwiches.

Grape Pie 3 (9 of 14)

Grape Pie 3 (12 of 14)

Here’s the “Autumn Royale”

Grape Pie 3 (6 of 14)

Grape Pie 3 (11 of 14)

Grape Pie 3 (14 of 14)

I settled on the seedless red flame grapes this week, as well as some Kyohos, which made a relish and are now simmering away on my stovetop for some jam.

Grape Pie 4 (1 of 1)Even after eating the grapes straight up for days, we had lots left that were in danger of rotting.  With a glut of fruit it’s always a good idea to make a pie, so that’s what I did for this week’s Fiesta Friday, my favorite cooking adventure brought to you by the marvelous Angie at the Novice Gardener, and this week hosted by one of my favorite foraging bloggers, Hilda at Along the Grapevine.

For the crust of this pie, I used half whole wheat “glenn wheat” flour and half all-purpose flour, with a touch of brown sugar.

Grape Pie (1 of 14)

Grape Pie (2 of 14)

Next, I roasted half of the figs and half of the grapes.  After roasting, I mixed the roasted fruit with some fresh grapes and figs for the pie filling.

Grape Pie (5 of 14)

Grape Pie (7 of 14)

Grape Pie (6 of 14)

Covered the pie with the top crust, popped it into the oven and voila!

Grape Pie (10 of 14)

 

Grape Pie (12 of 14)

Grape Pie (13 of 14)

Grape Pie 2 (1 of 1)

Fig and Grape Pie

For Crust (*adapted from Alton Brown’s pie crust recipe); Since I made a smaller, square “tart” pie, I only used one crust and it was enough for a top and bottom crust, but if you are making a regular pie you will want to double the recipe.  Or, if you prefer, you can have a “naked” pie with just one bottom crust.

Ingredients:

  • 3 ounces (6 tablespoons) butter, chilled
  • 1 ounce (2 tablespoons) lard, chilled
  • 6 ounces (approximately 1 cup) all-purpose flour, plus extra for rolling dough
  • generous sprinkling of brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt
  • 1/4 cup ice water, in spritz bottle
  • Approximately 32 ounces of dried beans, for blind baking

Preparation:

  1. Place butter and lard in freezer for 15 minutes. When ready to use, remove and cut both into small pieces.
  2. In the bowl of a food processor, combine flour and salt by pulsing 3 to 4 times. Add butter and pulse 5 to 6 times until texture looks mealy. Add lard and pulse another 3 to 4 times. Remove lid of food processor and spritz surface of mixture thoroughly with water. Replace lid and pulse 5 times. Add more water and pulse again until mixture holds together when squeezed. Place mixture in large zip-top bag, squeeze together until it forms a ball, and then press into a rounded disk and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  3. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  4. Place 2 metal pie pans in the refrigerator to chill.
  5. Remove dough from refrigerator. Cut along 2 sides of the plastic bag, open bag to expose dough, and sprinkle both sides with flour. Cover again with plastic and roll out with a rolling pin to a 10 to 11-inch circle. Open plastic again and sprinkle top of dough with flour. Remove pie pans from refrigerator and set first pan on top of dough. Turn everything upside down and peel plastic from bottom of dough. Place second pan upside down on top of dough and flip again. Remove first pan from atop dough. Trim edges if necessary, leaving an edge for meringue to adhere to. Poke holes in dough and place in refrigerator for 15 minutes.
  6. Place a large piece of parchment paper on top of dough and fill with dry beans. Press beans into edges of dough and bake in the oven for 10 minutes. Remove parchment and beans and continue baking until golden in color, approximately 10 to 15 minutes longer. Remove from oven and place on cooling rack. Let cool completely before filling.

For Filling:

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb red seedless grapes
  • 1 lb fresh figs, sliced in half

Preparation:

  1. Divide fruit in half and roast half the grapes and figs in a 425F oven for 15 to 25 minutes, depending on how “roasted” you like your fruit.  I roasted my fruit for 25 minutes.
  2. When roasted fruit is cooled, add to the remainder of the fresh fruit in a bowl.
  3. Place fruit mixture on top of pie crust and top fruit with second crust.
  4. Bake in 375 degree oven for 35 minutes and test for doneness.  Let cool slightly and enjoy!

 

45 Comments on “Fig and Grape Pie

  1. Sue I LOVE this pie and I am so jealous of your concord grapes. All those grapes are gorgeous and I think combining figs and grapes is brilliant. Your photo’s are amazing also.

    • Thanks Suzanne, I’m also working on grape jam but it’s not jelling as I want so I think it’s going to turn into grape butter and grape hollandaise sauce!

  2. What a beautiful pie. Great recipe. Cotton candy grapes????? Bring me some! I love your process pics. I want this pie!

    • Thanks Amanda! The cotton candy grapes are so addictive, but as I said I’m not sure I want to know how they’re made or engineered!

  3. I was wondering how the grapes were going to do this year in your part of the world after all the weird weather. I can rest easy now knowing the grapes did well. I love using seedless blue grapes in pies, mixed with just about anything, like rhubarb, but if I had figs in my garden…. This pastry looks really good too. I think it might go well with your superb tomato tarte tatin (which I made and was a huge success) in place of the puff pastry. Beautiful pictures as always.

    • thank you Hilda, I agree about the puff pastry, personally I think it got a little to wet in that recipe. I am officially having a grape fest right now, grape jam, grape hollandaise sauce, and on and on!!! Thanks again for hosting!

    • Thanks Lori! Every time I see your gravatar I want to grow my hair long like yours!!! Just sayin

  4. Good gracious! Those photos are amazing, and make the grapes pop right off the screen. The pie looks DEEEElish!

  5. What an interesting post, Sue! I had no idea that there were so many varieties of grapes! Your pie is just stunning and I would drop to my knees if only I could have a piece of it this very moment! 😀

    • you’re so darn funny . . . listen, I would drop to my knees too if I could have a piece, only I gave it to my husband and brother in law! When I came home, none left!

  6. Well, will you look at this presentation, it is just gorgeous! I love the combination of grapes and figs too, just so lovely!

  7. oh my amazing clicks and never tried teaming of grapes and figs in pie, will pin it up and definitely try when i get to gather all the ingredients… such a lovely treat it is… 🙂 🙂

  8. These pictures seem to pop out of my computer, as if if I held a plate under the screen they would drop on to it. Wishful thinking 😀

Leave a Reply

