Kyoho Grape and Cucumber Relish

Kyoho Grapes (1 of 1)

Kyoho grapes are softer than your average supermarket grape that is available year round, and more prone to damage.  At best they will last a week before fermentation sets in.  They are a Concord cross and have a wonderful, heady, jammy aroma.  While they have seeds and I normally shy away from seeded grapes, when I first sampled the kyoho this week at my favorite farmer’s market I was so smitten I bought some, not caring that I would spend a bit of time slicing and seeding them.

These kyoho grapes are from Ha’s Apple Farm in Tehachapi, California, and are in markets for about a month a year, in the latest weeks of summer.  Ha’s sells the grapes in 2 lb cartons, as well as a wonderful jam made from the grapes.  Since I just last week made a fig/grape pie, I decided to go savory with these grapes and prepare a relish.  I thought the flavor would pair well with the crunchy japanese cucumbers I had on hand, brightened with a little vinegar and lemon juice, and made earthy and nutty with walnut oil.  I served the relish with some bratwurst, seared baby romaine lettuce, and red cabbage.  Fantastic!

Kyoho Grapes 2 (1 of 1)

Fresh Kyoho Grapes from Ha’s Apple Farm

Grape Cucumber Relish (12 of 30)

On The Cutting Board

Grape Cucumber Relish (24 of 30)

Tossed With Salt, Pepper, Lemon Juice, Red Wine Vinegar and Walnut Oil

Grape Cucumber Relish (25 of 30)

Grape Cucumber Relish (26 of 30)

Served Up With Bratwurst, Seared Romaine and Red Cabbage

 

*This recipe is submitted to Simple and in Season, a monthly blog event I just discovered from Ren Behan’s fabulous food blog; this month her friend Elizabeth at Elizabeth’s Kitchen Diary is graciously hosting.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch Kyoho or Concord Grapes, halved and seeded
  • 2 small seedless cucumbers
  • Generous pinch sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 Tbps red wine vinegar
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 2 Tbps walnut or other rich nut oil

Preparation:

  1. Add grapes to cucumbers and season with salt and pepper.  (You can prepare to this point and sprinkle with a little lemon juice and let sit for several hours if you need to).
  2. Add vinegar, lemon juice and walnut oil.  Toss with a spoon and allow flavors to marinate for at least 10 minutes and up to 1 hour.  Serve with meat, poultry or other main dish as a relish.  Enjoy!

 

Grape Cucumber Relish (28 of 30)

35 Comments on “Kyoho Grape and Cucumber Relish

    • Yeah, but I guess it wasn’t totally savory, just with the vinegar and such it made it a little tart. It was quite good to tie a bite with the salty sausage!!!

    • It’s kind of a riff on the Spanish version of gazpacho . . .”white” gazpacho (a cold soup) that is traditionally made with almonds and grapes. It’s really good!!!

  1. OH MY, I love grapes and love this a relish. Never heard of Kyoho grapes but I have to try them. I have been waiting for the concords to come out and haven’t seen any yet. I make concord grape jam every year. I have to try this relish.

      • Everything so far this year has been out early in Southern California. We are already seeing pomegranates today and honey crisp apples!

      • I am hoping it’s late here and the concords will be out soon, I did see 3 varieties of apples at the green market but it’s still about tomatoes plums and peaches here. I want my grapes.

      • Yes, you want your grapes, you’re like me! I want what I want! :). I need a good grape jam recipe . . . . any tips? I’ve never made grape.

      • I make it every year yes, I simply boil the grapes with sugar and a grated green apple for the pectin. When it’s thickened I strain it to removed the seeds and pulp and then cook it again with a squeeze of lemon juice until it is thick when spooned onto a cold saucer, Then jar it. I don’t preserve in water bath I never make enough to warrant that I do refrigerator jam, spoon hot into sterilized jars put lids on they self seal and when room temp I refrigerate. It lasts up to 6 months unopened in the fridge. Love it it’s my favorite jam.

  2. What a beautiful looking and unusual looking relish, Sue – a total flavour explosion, I am sure! The bratwurst looks fabulous too – great photos! I love Ren and Elizabeth’s blogs….

    • I just discovered both of them and have been reading nonstop! Thank you for the compliment; the relish was really good . . . we are seeing lots of grapes right now at the market and in restaurants.

    • Yes ma’am. I just got so fed up with the self hosted site because it was not friendly to interaction . . . with all my wordpress friends it seemed so much easier for them to comment and interact within the wp family. I am forever goofing around with themes, colors, etc. I guess it’s my version of fashion and makeup . . . different every day!!!

  3. Hey Sue, this looks EXQUISITE! I’ve never thought about putting grapes in salads (apples yes)! They do grow great grapes in Belgium, and I think the season is right around the corner. Time to hit the market and buy a bunch 🙂

  4. What a beautiful relish, Sue. Love the fresh summer flavors and the color combination of the grapes with the cucumbers. Photos are amazing; when are you holding photo camp? 🙂

    • Ngan, soon! I can’t wait until I can take you and Jesse to some vietnamese food, or heck even a burger here in L.A. Enjoy your day off!

Leave a Reply

