Mushu Style Burger with Fig Scallion Sauce

Unda Burger (1 of 1)

Hi guys.  Happy National Mustard Day.  Are you ever surprised by how many National this and that days we have now for specific foods?  I am.  However, to commemorate I made a burger with some mustard and here I am hiding behind it, testing out the self timer on my new dslr camera.

Today also marks 9 years that nary a drop of cheap or fine vodka, or other booze, has passed my lips.  I don’t often talk about it on this blog but knowing the grave consequences of this particular enslavement, sometimes it’s good to put the flag of sobriety out there for others currently suffering.  Nobody else is sad about this dry spell, so don’t you be!  Have a drink on me, if you can have just one or a few and leave it.

I can’t change the way I lived for those 9 years, but I can live well to the best of my ability now, each moment, one day at a time. I can sit when it hurts, or go help someone else, instead of running from the pain we all experience in life.   Funny I’ve found it’s always in our attempts to escape suffering that we suffer the most.. So to show my gratitude for the forgiveness shown me and a chance at life and to make amends for the years I wrought destruction and suffering on others, all I know to do is live well.

Living well is no posh or exciting endeavor, it’s just being grateful you’re alive and for the people in your life, as well as being content being what we call “a worker among workers.”  Not trying to be something fabulous, or someone else, just being yourself, quirks and all.   It is paying attention, not having too many pity parties, and thinking of others. You can do this through food, too!   It could be making a phone call, some cupcakes or cookies, a visit, a burger.  Little things my mom’s always done without evangelizing.  It’s being nice to yourself so you can be nice to everyone else. For me, It’s also having faith because I think we have only that option in this life. Since there is little we can control, it’s best to let go of the results and live with faith that somehow, come what may, we’ll make it.

On that note, I made a burger for myself and you too.  Ever had a mushu burger with fermented black bean paste, fig/scallion sauce and a tamago egg?  Now you can!

UB 5 (1 of 1)

UB 6 (1 of 1)

UB 2 (1 of 1)

UB 3 (1 of 1)

Recipe:

  • 1 lb ground beef, preferably grass-fed
  • 1 heaping tablespoon fermented black bean paste
  • 4 dried figs
  • 1 scallion, sliced thinly, green and white parts
  • 1 tablespoon coconut aminos (or soy sauce)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil or melted coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds
  • 2 pieces tamago egg (or 2 scrambled eggs, divided)
  • 2 rice flour tortillas, or regular tortillas
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
    1. Combine beef and black bean sauce.  Mix well and shape into patties with a dimple in the center.
    2. Combine figs, scallion, coconut aminos, olive oil and balsamic vinegar in a small saucepan and heat over medium heat.  Off heat, add sesame seeds.
    3. For the tortillas, add one beaten egg to shallow saucepan and when it starts to separate from the bottom of the pan but is still wet on top, place tortilla on top of egg and press lightly.  Cook until the egg is fully cooked on bottom and the tortilla has adhered.
    4. Cook your patties in a screaming hot cast iron skillet or pan, to your preferred doneness. Place each patty on top of tortilla, add tamago egg, then pour sauce over.  Fold over and stab with a fork to keep held together.  Enjoy!

6 Comments on “Mushu Style Burger with Fig Scallion Sauce

  1. Fig scallion sauce!!! Wow Sue! This sounds like something I would get at a super fancy restaurant! Love love love it!!

  2. Oh, a very fine post bird! Your narrative was humble, wise and filled with wisdom and great hope! I am thankful and happy to read your insights here on recovery! The mushu burger dish was an extra bonus! All good things to come your way!

Leave a Reply

