Why We All Need Cherry Pitters (Hard Cider Cherry Tart)

My mother recently loaned me her cherry pitter because I had a special request for a cherry pie.  What a revelation!  Have you ever bitten into a giant, ripe and juicy pit-less cherry?  It elevates cherry eating to new heights, and I think everyone should experience it!

For some reason cherries are on sale in southern cailfornia in the supermarkets — I’ve seen them marked down at three different local stores.  This price reduction is what prompted my husband to ask for a cherry pie.  However, I’ve also been hearing complaints of gaining weight and the need to reduce flour and carbohydrate consumption in our household, so I set out to make a sugar free and gluten free dessert, and ended up with a wonderful tart made with a nut based crust, and a hard cider & cooked cherry filling with a fresh cherry topping.  I thought to add hard cider, inspired by a recipe for a cherry pie made with Cherry IPA ale.  With the addition of hard cider came the thought of Burgundy and buckwheat crepes, so I added buckwheat flour to the crust for a very earthy and complex flavor.  I’ll throw humility out the door here and just say:  It was awesome.  I hope you enjoy it at this week’s Fiesta Friday #25.

IMG_1415IMG_1422IMG_1417IMG_1418IMG_1420IMG_1421IMG_6054IMG_6071IMG_6072IMG_6064IMG_6073

Hard Cider Cherry Tart 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (190 grams) Almond Meal or Flour
  • 1 cup buckwheat or rye flour
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine Sea Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 cup (48 grams) Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 cup organic butter, chilled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 4 tablespoons ice cold water
  • 6 cups pitted cherries
  • 1 cup hard cherry cider
  • 2 Tbsp cornstarch plus 1 Tbps water, whisked together

Preparation:

  1. Pre heat the oven to 350 degrees F with the rack in the middle.
  2. In a bowl whisk together the almond flour, walnuts, baking soda, and salt. Break apart any lumps. Add the oil, butter and water, combine with a pastry cutter or in a food processor. Put the dough on a work surface. Knead the dough until well combined with your hands. Press dough into a 9 inch tart pan. Be sure to press it all the way up the sides and evenly throughout the pan. Put tart on a baking sheet and bake it for 10 minutes. Take it out of the oven and let the crust cool a bit.
  3. Roughly chop 2 cups of the pitted cherries and place in saucepan with cider.  Heat over medium heat until boiling, then reduce to a simmer for 15 minutes.  Add cornstarch and water mixture and whisk constantly until mixture thickens.  Off heat, cool, and place mixture into tart crust.
  4. Bake tart for 35 minutes at 350 degrees F.  Cool slightly and place remaining pitted cherries over the top.  Serve with ice cream, whipped cream or yogurt if you please.  Enjoy!

71 Comments on “Why We All Need Cherry Pitters (Hard Cider Cherry Tart)

  1. I like everything about this pie. I have a few cherry pitters because we had the most wonderful cherry trees when we lived in France. Haven’t used them much since, but I will have to find some good cherries and put the pitters to use again for this pie. By the way, a lot of garlic presses have a hole in the handle and a thingy that goes into it when pressed to remove pits of any kind – they work fine.

  2. This looks sooooo good. I have a bunch of cherries just begging to be put into a tart right now. Yum!

  3. Oh, biting into a plump, juicy, pit-less cherry must be heaven…just as I’m sure your cherry pie must have been.

  4. Oh my! Send some over please Sue! This is right up my alley! Sugar free and delicious! I love the crust! Oh, this just sounds soooo good!! And a cherry pitter?! You mean I don’t have to slowly and tediously chop around the pit when I’m using cherries?! 😉

  5. I was wondering if you have some leftovers… I’d die for a slice of your cake, especially with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream.. I will start buying a cherry pitter first!

    • Two days later and I do have one small piece left over, just for you Margherita!

  6. I’m already a fan by just seeing these photographs! It looks so so good 😀
    Oh god, I need to have one of those cherry pitters 😮
    Happy Fiesta Friday, Sue!

  7. Aww red and juicy fingers is half the fun of cooking with cherries in the summer 😉 I love the look of this recipe though, thanks for sharing at FF!

  8. Wow! What a great cherry pie! I’m not sure I’ve seen a cherry pitter before, it’s a must have in every kitchen, how have I done without it for so long? 🙂

    • Because it’s not really a must have . . . . ! Few things are, right? Good old hands can go pretty far!

  9. What a beautiful tart, Sue! I love that you are making it with no gluten and without sugar too! It’s so funny about the cherry pitter! I bought a huge basket of cherries the other day and was just saying to my husband that we should get a cherry pitter. Now, inspired by you, I am going to look for one. Thanks so much for bringing this to FF! You know it will be gone in seconds with all of these hungry FFers milling about! 😀

    • They are fun to work with and do save you quite a bit of time and like I said, I love eating those whole cherries with a hole in the middle instead of gnawing around the pits. I can’t wait to get to the party and really mingle! Thanks for stopping by!

    • Haha, thanks Chitra! I’m often drooling over your dishes so the feeling’s mutual!

    • Thank you wb. But you need to open a bake shop for your amazing cakes . . . this week you really blew me away!

  10. You’re a genius, Sue! Love the idea of a cherry tart, gluten-free and sugarless. The cherry pitter is a revelation to me too, wish I could find it somewhere…

    • Haha, I don’t know about that but I’ll take it! I’ve been learning a lot about using alternative flours and more nutrient dense foods and we’re not missing anything in flavor! Thank you for your kind words!

  11. Haha, I didnt see the point of a cherry pitter until I actually got one 😀 That is one gorgeous looking pie! Is there anything I can substitute for the solid cherry cider?

  12. A really fabulous georgous pretty cherry tart where you also used coconut oil & butter in! Divine! xx

  13. How does it remove the pits and leave the cherry whole? This looks like some kind of beautiful cherry pitting magic going on. And it made a magical looking tart! Woooowwww is all I could say to that. I love the use of hard cider, and understanding why you included each ingredient that you did. This looks glorious. Happy Fiesta Friday!

  14. I actually have been thinking of buying one because my fingernails are still stained from making my cherry chocolate chip muffins, thanks for your advice:)

    • I know . . . frankly the only solution I think is to wear surgical gloves, which is what I may indeed do next time!

  15. The pie sounds awesome!! I love the taste of buckwheat, and the thought of cider and cherries filling is swoon-worthy. Great baking and photos!

Leave a Reply

