Roasted Carrot & Avocado Salad with Cumin Citrus Dressing

IMG_2165

Carrots from Friday Venice, CA Farmers Market

Carrots elude me because I don’t really care for them raw, or even in the traditional french glazed manner.  Yet they are so healthy and now is the time of year that I tend to eat much more fruit and veggies, and less meat and starch.  I’ve been looking for a way to make carrots delicious and I’ve found it!  Tossed with an herb/garlic/cumin/olive oil dressing while roasting,  then re-dressed with roasted citrus juice, vinegar and more olive oil before serving, and paired with creamy, mild avocado, this recipe is the ticket.

My mother often roasts carrots as part of a roasted vegetable tray at buffet or holiday dinners, and I marvel at how delicious the little carrots are.  I think it’s just a simple concoction of olive oil, salt and carrots, so I decided to build on this idea, add more flavoring to the roasting “marinade” or coating, and add huge chunks of perfectly ripe summer avocado. My recipe is also an adaptation of a recipe I saw a very long time ago from Jamie Oliver which also included hunks of toasted ciabatta . . . a sort of carrot “panzanella”

IMG_5720

Ingredients
1 pound carrots, with their leafy tops
Sea salt
2 level teaspoons whole cumin seeds
1 or 2 small dried chiles, crumbled
Freshly ground black pepper
2 cloves garlic, peeled
4 sprigs fresh parsley, leaves picked
Extra-virgin olive oil
Red or white wine vinegar
1 orange, halved
1 lemon, halved
3 ripe avocados

1/4 cup olive oil

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Parboil the carrots in boiling, salted water for 10 minutes, until they are very nearly cooked, then drain and put them into a roasting pan. While the carrots are cooking, smash the cumin seeds, chilles, salt and pepper. Add the garlic and smash up again until you have a kind of paste. Add enough extra-virgin olive oil to generously cover the paste, and a good dash of vinegar.  Stir together, add parsley, then pour over the carrots in the pan, coating them well. Add the orange and lemon halves, cut side down.
  3. Roast carrots in oven for 25 to 30 minutes, or until golden.
  4. While the carrots are roasting, halve and peel the avocados, discarding the pits, then cut them into wedges lengthwise and place in a big bowl. Remove the carrots from the oven and add them to the avocados. Carefully, using some tongs, squeeze the roasted orange and lemon juice into a bowl and add the same amount of extra-virgin olive oil and a little swig of red wine vinegar. Season, and pour over the carrots and avocados.

IMG_5719

This recipe is submitted for Fiesta Friday #24.

70 Comments on “Roasted Carrot & Avocado Salad with Cumin Citrus Dressing

  1. Whoa! These pictures are gorgeous and the carrots and avocado dish looks scrumptious. Let’s eat! Thank you for this post!

    • Hi there remember when we ate it, it was sooooo good! I mixed it in with greens for you and other salad goodies because you’re mixer

    • bacon dust, hmmm. are you into molecular foodstuffs and such? How about some bacon gelee or foam!!!!

      • Not really into that vibe.. Although bacon dust is cool! Not a fan of foams or jelly.. Unless its kids jelly with ice cream!

  2. I love this recipe! Everything about it looks and sounds so delicious. Thanks so much for bringing it to the party! 🙂

  3. Wow, Sue – this looks fantastic – great photos too. I love how you have added so much flavour in layers – each stage is a flavour bomb! I see that Mr Fitz has suggested some porcine goodness – surprise, surprise! It would be a great addition but I am guessing that you are bacon-ed out at the moment! I don’t parboil carrots if I am roasting them – – am I missing a trick? Thanks for sharing this with the Friday Fiesta Crew – P.S. Have you added the link to Angie’s FF#24 post? Please can you include it so that I can add this to my shortlist of recipes to consider for a feature next week 🙂

    • Thank you Selma! Yes I did add the link but after the recipe at the very end. The porcine suggestion did not surprise me and yes I am totally bacon-ed out!!!

    • Oh, and parboiling makes them chewy and luscious all the way through instead of kind of leathery.

      • I must bear that in mind – I have so many carrots from the CSA box which is also why I have started juicing again!!

      • Ah, yes I’ve had that conundrum before! I diagonal-slice them and parboil and pickle them lightly in vinegar with jalapeños mexican restaurant style and I could eat them like that for days!

  4. Beautiful pictures, Sue. I agree with you: I don’t eat that many carrots either because I don’t care for the raw texture. However, when they’re roasted I think they’re delicious. Thanks for sharing this dish, it looks and sounds great 🙂

  5. When I was younger, I loved carrots so much, I would walk around and eat raw ones all day long! This dish looks absolutely delicious though, I definitely want to try it out. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

    • that’s funny! you were a little budding rabbit! did you ever get orange hued hands and face like I did when juicing too many carrots???

      • Not in the raw carrot phase, but when I was a baby I did! (It doest take much orange food when you’re a baby). I never juiced my carrots, so I think you might be able to consume more when you juice them than eat them raw. 🙂

  6. Sue- I’m not a big carrot fan, but this actually looks awesome! Yummy!! Might have to try this out myself!

  7. Love the combination of veggies and the dressing. Very flavourful! I must try it out sometime soon. Have a lovely weekend, Sue!

  8. Pingback: Them there carrots… | foodbod

  9. This is simply superb. I just went for a buffet yesterday and they had a similar roasted spiced carrots salad there. I soo enjoyed having it. I must try making this at home. Found this recipe at the right time. Thanks for posting this. 🙂

  10. Roasting any vegetable is always a good idea – brings out the sugaryness in them. I like the addition of the avocado. Thanks for bringing your recipe – and photos – along to Fiesta Friday.

  11. Pingback: Roasted Carrot & Avocado Salad with a Garlic Honey Chipotle Sauce | Creating Beauty in the Kitchen

  12. Hi Sue- wanted to let you know that I made this (with some changes to fit my family) and posted it on my blog! Thanks for inspiring me! 🙂

  13. Oh my goodness, Sue.. this looks fabulous. .. like fabulously fabulousness. .. I love carrots tho, raw or cooked!! Look at us this week.. great minds, my friend, great minds… I csnnot wait to try this! ! ❤

  14. See what happens when I miss FF for a few weeks? I miss out on great looking recipes like this! Thanks for sharing – I love every ingredient in this so I know it’s good!

Leave a Reply

