Epic Birgerbird Burger!

Hi guys, I’ve been working on the perfect burger for weeks and I think I came up with it.  It’s very messy to eat and you won’t be hungry for days, but give it a try!  Also, you can vote for my burger on Food52, which is a fantastic foodie website for home cooks and aspiring food stylists and gourmets!  The voting doesn’t actually start until next week, but if you view and comment on the recipe, your visit generates activity which may be used to determine which recipes make the cut to be voted on!

IMG_5629IMG_5628IMG_5626IMG_5621IMG_5618

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground dry aged, grass fed beef
  • 1 teaspoon black truffle salt
  • 4 slices bacon from pastured pork
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 2 duck eggs
  • 1 heirloom tomato, sliced
  • handful dill pickle slices
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 brioche hamburger buns, buttered (1 Tbps butter) and toasted
  • 2 tablespoons bacon drippings

Preparation:

  1. Form 2 1/2 inch thick patties with beef, using a light touch. Make a small dimple in the center of the patties. Sprinkle with truffle salt on both sides.
  2. Cook bacon in cast iron skillet until medium crisp. Remove bacon and reserve 2 Tbsp. bacon drippings. Heat bacon drippings over high heat.
  3. Cook patties over high heat, not moving, for 2 minutes. Flip and cook over medium heat 3-4 minutes, without moving or smashing down with a spatula. Leave in pan, off heat, covered, while you fry duck eggs.
  4. Over high heat, fry duck eggs in 2 Tbps butter.
  5. Assemble burgers: On bottom of bun place a handful of pickles. Place patty on top of pickles, followed by bacon, avocado, fried egg and tomato. Place top bun on top and dig in!

30 Comments on “Epic Birgerbird Burger!

  1. OMG Sue – the burger looks amazing and with such gorgeous products! I am off to check it out on F52 – one of my favourite sites – perhaps we were separated at birth? Haha!! Just a heads up that people have to be logged in to vote – found that out when I entered the Your Best One Pot Dish competition (and won – woohoo!!) and lots of my FB friends couldn’t enable the voting thing…

    • I know I know! For the last 3 years I’ve entered the LA Times Battle of the Burger contest and it can only be done through facebook and there is no mobile access . . . and voting is allowed once a day for 2 weeks . . . I really harassed all my friends, not this year! And yes we were obviously separated at birth.

    • Oh Hilda I am so surprised you have not seen it yet, I really like the format of the site, it is visually uncluttered and very user friendly. Now, I am off to pick grape leaves!!!

  2. OMG! Big and Savory for the man-sized, big outdoors, summer appetite…He-man size burgers!!!! Whoa!!!! Look out now…summer has arrived and the He-man burger is here!!! I tell you what….He-man!!!

      • Oh my gosh. I would Iove it lol. It sounds like the best burger ever! Btw I’m arriving on July 10th in the evening and I’m really looking forward to hitting a taco stand with you 🙂

  3. haha I love it! I love homemade burgers that are so big and messy that you don’t know how to pick it up, or cut it, and eat it! It’s such a gourmet burger, that ingredient list! And I love the bread 😉

    • I eat waaaaay too many burgers! My favorite, I must admit, is my spanish version with pork and manchego and a sort of romesco. Mmmmm!

  4. WOW! I love it, Sue! This is what a real burger should look like! I can imagine not having to eat for days after this one but I do believe it is totally worth it! Oh god… It looks SO good!
    I love the fact that you made a signature on the bread 😀

  5. Hi Sue, Is this print of your logo a stamp or an branding iron? I have a friend who was looking to order one for the new business she started (to burn the pastries she makes), but don’t know where to begin looking for it.

    • hey thanks!!! this actually made it to community picks in Food 52 but not to the final 2. 🙂

Leave a Reply

