Blueberry Rhubarb Crumble Ice Cream

IMG_5011

I did it, I made homemade ice cream.  Really wiped me out but it was worth it.  I wanted to share the recipe with you, that I adapted from Woodridge Homestead blog, which posted a peach ice cream recipe using a hand crank machine that reminded me of the peach ice cream my mom used to make in the summers.  I can still remember the little wooden barrel sitting on our back porch humming away.

I must say, homemade ice cream just far surpasses any Haagen Dazs, Ben & Jerry’s or other $10 per pint gourmet artisan ice cream you can buy at the store.  It must be the sweat and tears, but it really is more fresh, sweet and delicious.

I decided on the fruits because I made a blueberry rhubarb jam to take with me as little gifts for my friends I’ll be meeting later this week in northern California.  I’m heading out on my road trip right now, stay tuned for the story!

Ingredients

For the Blueberry Jam

1 cups fresh blueberries

1 cup fresh rhubarb

3 tbsp water

1/4 cup sugar

3 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp corn starch

For the Crumble
1 cup quick oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
4 tsp butter, melted
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup chopped cashews
1/4 tsp cinnamon

For the Vanilla Ice Cream Base
1 1/2 cups milk
1 1/4 cups sugar
3 cups heavy cream
1 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract

Instructions

For the Blueberry Rhubarb Jam:
In a small saucepan over medium heat combine the blueberries, rhubarb, water and sugar. Stir and cook for 10 minutes, gently pushing the berries against the sides of the pan to release juices. In a small bowl whisk together the lemon juice and cornstarch, then stir into the blueberry mixture. Cook until the blueberry sauce begins to thicken, then remove from heat and bring to room temperature.

For the Crumble:
Pre heat oven to 400 degrees F. In a medium bowl combine the quick oats, brown sugar, melted butter, flour, chopped nuts, and cinnamon, stir together.
Spread the oat mixture onto a baking sheet in a thin layer. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the oats are golden brown. Let cool, and set aside.

For the Ice Cream Base:
In a large bowl, whisk together 1 1/2 cups of milk and 1 1/4 cups sugar until the sugar is dissolved. Add 3 cups of heavy cream and 1 1/2 tbsp of vanilla extract and whisk to combine.
Pour into the base of your ice cream maker and let churn for 25-30 minutes, until soft serve consistency.
Once the ice cream is ready scoop it into a large bowl and add 1 1/2 – 2 cups of the blueberry compote (reserving the rest for a sauce), gently fold in the blueberries. DO NOT OVER STIR.
Break up the oat crumble mixture into small pieces and add it to the ice cream, fold it in gently.
Pour into a freezer proof pan (I used my 9″x5″ bread loaf pan), and place in the freezer for 3-4 hours or until desired consistency.
Serve with the extra blueberry sauce on top if desired.
Enjoy!

20 Comments on “Blueberry Rhubarb Crumble Ice Cream

  1. That looks fabulous! We had a hand-crank ice cream maker when I was little. Wish I had it now 😦 My electric ice cream maker has broken and I really don’t want to buy a replacement. It’s temping though…with pics like these…

  2. OH MY!!! Do I love that ice cream. Rhubarb is wonderful, the crumble and the blueberry. It looks so creamy and fruity and delicious.

  3. Now I want an ice cream maker. I haven’t tried making ice cream but thought I might try one of the no churn recipes popular right now. Such summery flavors in your ice cream!

  4. Oh my! Summertime and fresh blueberry-rhubarb ice cream! Where is my boat on the lake in upstate New York?

  5. Everyone is making homemade ice cream! Ugh, I better listen to Suzanne and get mine out of its box. I bought an ice cream maker months ago, but have had no time to play with it. Now I have more time and am too lazy. Hah! 😀

    • Hah! Do get it out, it’s not that hard, it’s just cumbersome. We could have shakes tomorrow for dessert with some of your homemade ice cream??? 🙂

      • Haha I just got home from teaching a photo class! No homemade ice cream for us! But I have a homemade something else for youuuu…

      • Haha can’t wait! Thanks again for making the trip down! I wish I would have planned ahead a little more and brought you some books but hey, next time or maybe when you’re in LA. My Pok Pok book is on my kindle . . . 😦

  6. Two scoops, please…looks deliciously perfect, Sue! It seems the results were well worth the effort. 😛
    Love the photo Patty posted of the two of you! How wonderful that you were able to meet in person!

Leave a Reply

