Lemon Meringue Pie for Dad’s Birthday

I’m bringing my Dad to Fiesta Friday #20 because it’s his birthday today! I made his all-time favorite dessert, Lemon Meringue Pie.  He just came with my Mom to pick it up on their way to San Francisco for the week and I’m quaking in my boots hoping that as the pie cools, the lemon filling will gel.  This was my first attempt, and at a meringue also, so let’s hope for the best!

In order to increase my chance of success for Dad’s Birthday Pie, I used my trusted source Alton Brown’s recipe, including his pie crust recipe.  The only things that differed from his recipe were the lack of lard in the crust — I made an all butter one; less sugar and some honey; and, more lemon zest.  Also a few dabs of yolk snuck into my whites, but I was not going to try to fix that problem!

Did I mention I got a new cooking toy which made this pie so much easier to make and clean up after?  I put a big butcher block piece on top of what used to be a patio table base, replacing a thin glass top square that use to house everything from receipts to aging fruit, so that now when I turn my mixer on, I don’t risk shattering glass!  And I’ve got way more square inches of baking station . . . I can make a mess with flour and roll crusts to my heart’s delight without destroying the other part of the kitchen.  Plus I’ve got a whole “hallway” of walking/working space rather than a cramped .5′ to get to my little open kitchen “closet” that I just painted chalkboard orange.  Lots of fun going on here these days!

 

Back to the recipe.  It’s super easy.  Head over here if you want to watch Alton on video making the pie.

Crust Made

Crust Made

Topped with Raw Meringue

Topped with Raw Meringue

Finished!  Happy Birthday, Dad.  (no slices pictured because he took the whole pie)

Finished! Happy Birthday, Dad. (no slices pictured because he took the whole pie!)

Ingredients

Lemon Filling:

4 egg yolks (reserve whites for meringue)

1/3 cup cornstarch

1 1/2 cups water

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup honey

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup lemon juice

2 tablespoons finely grated lemon zest

1 (9-inch) pre-baked pie shell (bake your pie crust, covered with pie beans, for 10 minutes at 425 degrees)

Meringue Topping:

4 egg whites

1 pinch cream of tartar

2 tablespoons sugar
Directions
Lemon Filling:
Adjust the oven rack to the middle position. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Whisk egg yolks in medium size mixing bowl and set aside.

In a medium saucepan, combine cornstarch, water, sugar, and salt. Whisk to combine. Turn heat on medium and, stirring frequently, bring mixture to a boil. Boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat and gradually, 1 whisk-full at a time, add hot mixture to egg yolks and stir until you have added at least half of the mixture.

Return egg mixture to saucepan, turn heat down to low and cook, stirring constantly, for 1 more minute. Remove from heat and gently stir in butter, lemon juice, and zest until well combined. Pour mixture into pie shell and top with meringue while filling is still hot. Make sure meringue completely covers filling and that it goes right up to the edge of the crust. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until meringue is golden. Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack. Make sure pie is cooled completely before slicing.

Meringue Topping:
Place egg whites and cream of tartar in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Beat egg whites until soft peaks form and then gradually add sugar and continue beating until stiff peaks form, approximately 1 to 2 minutes. Use to top lemon filling.

 

 

32 Comments on “Lemon Meringue Pie for Dad’s Birthday

    • Thanks Lori it was still jiggling when he picked it up so I’m crossing my fingers. I think it needs a couple hours to cool. Otherwise: lemon meringue pudding?

  1. Happy Birthday to your dad! That’s a great looking lemon meringue and I was surprised to read it was your first one! You can’t go wrong with an Alton Brown recipe and I can’t wait to hear how your dad enjoys it. Also, I’m a wee bit jealous of that new counter of yours! It also serves as a fantastic photography backdrop. 😀

  2. Happy Birthday to your dad! That pie is simply amazing, I love everything about it. And what I wouldn’t give to have a block like that in my kitchen, it’s beautiful! Happy FF! 🙂

  3. First, Happy Birthday to your Dad! Then, Happy Fiesta Friday #20, Sue! Thank you for bringing this beautiful lemon meringue pie to the Fiesta. Light and flavorful. Yum 😛

  4. LOVE lemon meringue pie and yours looks fabulous, Sue. Happy Birthday to your Dad…I hope he thoroughly enjoyed his treat. 🙂

  5. Your crust looks so pretty! What a lovely pie for Father’s Day. Lemon is my sons favorite, I will want to try this. 🙂

  6. Happy Birthday to your Dad! Hope you’ve heard from him by now to say the the pie tasted even more fabulous than it looked!!! The work top looks wonderful Sue. It must make a huge difference having so much additional counter space. Good call!!!

  7. The pie looks delicious, Sue… I am sure your dad will love it! Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  8. Looks really good, glad your dad liked the pie! I love baking for my family’s birthday, always feels a little more special than something store bought. Happy belated birthday to your dad!

    • Thank you Ms. Giraffe! It’s funny I started out as just loving to cook but more and more I’m finding that I love love love baking! Now excuse me while I go buy a bundt pan so I can make that ridiculous caramel sauce cake!!

      • I love baking and cooking, think I prefer baking though, I’m much better at it too! Haha a bundt pan is a good investment either way!

  9. I adore lemon meringue pie, looks delicious!! There is nothing quite as delicious as tart sweet lemon filling and fluffy meringue. YUM!

    • Thanks Ms. Pug! I like the lemon part but I don’t understand meringue . . . don’t really care for it but the men in my family do, so there you have it!

  10. I’m mad for lemon cake! I did something similar for my hubby’s birthday, we really loved it! I’ll try to make your version, I’m sure it was great! Have a great we!

    • Margherite, thank you! It has truly been a happy, wonderful week. Do try the recipe, it ended up setting just fine and was delicious. I might have pre-baked the pie crust a wee bit longer because my mom said it tasted a little “raw” ( i like that taste — raw dough & butter & sugar!!! )

Leave a Reply

