“Keep Maine Alive” Blueberry Muffins

IMG_4738

A good friend of mine sent me this picture as we were emailing each other about cooking wizardry and creativity.  It immediately locked into my heart, I’m not sure why.  Finally today I got around to looking onto the “explodingdog” site, and there’s something about Sam’s work that I find so poignant, ridiculous, funny, sad and also happy.  If that makes sense.  You should check it out.

In the meantime, my current magical endeavor has been “keeping Maine alive” in our house.  What that means is serving up culinary reminders of our summers in Maine while my husband, whose favorite place on Earth is Maine, slogs away at the last long and overbooked hours of his job before the summer break.  For more info on our Maine trips, see here.

Beautiful Bowdoin Track, Brunswick, Maine

Beautiful Bowdoin Track, Brunswick, Maine

For Maine blueberry muffins, see below!  These are based on Zoe Nathan Loeb’s (Huckleberry, Milo & Olive, Rustic Canyon) recipe for Blueberry Bran Muffins.  They are maple-ey, almost sticky and pudding-like, not cakey at all.  Be sure to buy good blueberries.
IMG_0962IMG_0963IMG_0958IMG_0960IMG_0965IMG_0980 IMG_0982 IMG_0983IMG_0981

Ingredients:
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1/4 cup brown sugar, plus more for topping
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup canola oil
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup wheat germ, lightly toasted
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup plain full-fat yogurt
2 cups blueberries

Directions:
1) Preheat the oven to 350(F).
2) Place cupcake liners in a 12 cup muffin pan.
3) In a large bowl, whisk by hand the butter, brown sugar and salt. Add the egg and whisk to combine.
4) Add the maple syrup, honey and canola oil. Whisk until emulsified.
5) Add the flour, wheat germ, baking soda and yogurt. Whisk together just until combined.
6) Fill the muffin cups about three-quarters full. Top with lots of fresh berries. Crumble a little brown sugar on top of the fruit.
7) Bake in the oven until the cake springs back and the tops are golden brown (About 25 – 30 minutes).

 

11 Comments on ““Keep Maine Alive” Blueberry Muffins

  1. Sue, you had me at “almost sticky and pudding-like”….that’s my kind of treat! I hope you are having a wonderful week! 😀

      • Yes, school ended last Thursday and I have been ready for summer since February! Heheh! I only teach one or two nights a week for the photography company so that forces me to get dressed and leave the house occasionally. 😉

  2. Perfect! You have no idea how you just made my day, Sue. I’ve been looking for blueberry muffin recipes forever and have only had lukewarm reactions to them. This one is being made this weekend! I love the use of wheat germ and yogurt (though I’m going to try non-fat yogurt) and the maple syrup sounds great. So excited to make this!

    • So happy you can use! I don’t really like muffins usually, I wish I could fed ex you one right now, they are fabulous! One caution: if you do use nonfat yogurt, use greek, and strain it. You don’t want watery muffins! good luck!

  3. Now this looks like a blueberry muffin to sink my teeth in! Love the mound of berries on the top…they sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

