Phrench Dip (Pho + French Dip)

IMG_0656

My All-Time Favorite Market Stand for Greens and Herbs

Recently we went to a Vietnamese restaurant I’ve been wanting to try for some time, not only because I like vietnamese food, but also to try their stand-out sandwich they call “Pho Baguette.”  It’s Pho-simmered-beef meets Bahn Mi.  A departure from tradition, to be sure, but what sounds wrong about brisket, pickled vegetables and pate on a french baguette moistened with broth?  Nothing!!

Unfortunately, we happened to pick the hottest day of the year, and one of the busiest for restaurants in general (Mother’s Day), for our visit.  The wait would have normally been a nice opportunity to catch up with my son, but the restaurant was entirely outdoor and it was sweltering.  I suppose it could have been an authentic Vietnamese street-food summer experience, you know . . . to have a cold sweet drink and wait in the heat, but nobody was up for it.  Since then I’ve been curious about that sandwich, so I decided to make one myself.  Except it’s all Pho and no Bahn Mi, save the bread.  Oh, and there’s no meat. I know, I know, but 4 lbs of meat and marrow bones went into the broth, so the beef’s there in spirit.

It turned out to be a very delicious dish indeed, and right in keeping with birgerbird style — inspired by restaurant food, highly adapted . . . and a little all over the place.  It’s really easy to make if you have homemade bone broth on hand.  Here’s the recipe:

Yield:  4 servings

Ingredients:

4 cups bone broth, or substitute purchased chicken or beef broth

1 inch piece of ginger, peeled and sliced thin

1 stick cinnamon

1 piece lemongrass, whacked with back of a knife

1 piece star anise

4 long baguettes

1 jalapeno

1 cups bean sprouts

1 green mango, cut into matchsticks

1 carrot, grated

1 bunch basil

1 buch thai purple basil

1 bunch mint

1 bunch rau ram

1 bunch cilantro

4 large red leaf lettuce leaves

8 oz tofu, weighted down between 2 books or a brick and a pan, you get the picture

2 Tbps olive  or coconut oil

2 Tbsp sriracha

2 Tbsp mayonnaise with a drop of sriracha mixed in

4 oz peanuts, crushed

2 Tbsp fish sauce

Juice of 1 lime

2 Tbsp sweet chili sauce

2 Tbsp soy sauce

4 Tbsp rice vinegar

1 tsp sugar

2 Tbps minced red chile

Instructions:

Heat up broth with cinnamon, star anise, ginger and lemongrass and season with salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil and take off heat.  Drop a few leaves of each herb into the broth and let infuse.

Meanwhile, mix jalapeño, bean sprouts, all herbs, carrot, lime juice, fish sauce, chili sauce, soy sauce, vinegar, sugar, peanuts and chile.  Toss with hands and make sure all leaves are coated.  Split baguettes lengthwise, hollow out a little bread and pack herb mixture into top half of bread.  Really press the herbs into the bread.  Place a lettuce leaf on top.  If there is leftover dressing from the herbs, pour over herbs on bread.

Spread bottom half of baguette with mayo.

Slice tofu into several pieces, about 1/4 inch thick and spread with sriracha.  Broil briefly.

Lay tofu onto bottom half of baguettes.  Place onto top baguettes and weigh down with a heavy skillet or other makeshift weight.

Gently heat up the broth, strain herbs out, and ladle into bowls.  Serve broth with sandwiches and dip away!

 

 

 

 

28 Comments on “Phrench Dip (Pho + French Dip)

  1. This sandwich looks and sounds delicious, Sue!
    Love your play on words title and your new gravatar too. 🙂

  2. Interesting! I’ve not had a pho baguette before, but it’s a fun idea. Great job, and that broth looks amazing!

    • Thanks Ngan, I aways think of you when I eat or try to cook Vietnamese! 🙂 I have a ton of rice noodles right now and need to get into the noodle bowls and noodle salads soon!

      • 🙂 I just made a noodle soup tonight with shrimp and pork dumplings and I’m working on a post for tomorrow with spring rolls. Such good, homey food! I miss eating Vietnamese food everyday, every meal, which was how I was raised. I can’t wait to see your noodle creations!

  3. Now why in the world has this combo never been put together before? I love your take on it, Sue. Your creativity is limitless!

    • Thank you! By the way I picked up a dog treat for Bailey . . . it’s an artisan, handmade, peanut butter/oat based giant dog bone from Superba Food & Bread. I don’t have a dog, but I had to buy one of these because the chef is one of the best in town . . . and he’s got dog treats by the cash register! I figure if I vac-pack (I have a sous vide) I could send it over to Bailey. Of course it’s almost bigger than his head, but still . . .

      • Yes you should email me your address if you really want me to send 🙂 or I can send him a picture!!! I am thinking about driving up north to spend a few days with my parents celebrating their 50th anniv. in SF . . . . let me know if you are in the area next week 🙂

      • Sue, I would LOVE to see you!! I’m leaving for a trip up the north coast on Thursday and returning Sunday. When will you be in SF??

      • Egads, I need to be back in LA for college reunion on Saturday 21st. Driving up Tuesday & going home Thursday or Friday.

      • How cool would that be! Let me just talk to Mr. Birgerbird tonight and I will get right back to you!

      • Ok I’m game! Well have to recruit Ngan in spirit.
        Tell me where to meet you !!! So fun!!!!!

      • Ahhh I’ve been waiting for your response!! So excited!!! Let’s brainstorm some ideas and decide on a location in a few days! 😀 😀 😀

      • I don’t know where halfway is either, but I will meet you anywhere!! Napa does sound pretty wonderful though. I am so excited! 😀

Leave a Reply

