5 Star Notebook Dinners (Fried Chicken)

This fried chicken was so good my husband said, “Sue, this is just sooo good, you need to write this dinner down and keep it in a notebook . . . . otherwise I’m afraid you’ll forget to make it again.  And put the pork cheek ravioli in there too.”  So I’m keeping certain dinner recipes in a “notebook” page on this blog.  They’ll be recipes that won taste buds in my house over in a major way, ones to make again and again.  First up:  Fried Chicken.

Today I visited the Jimenez Farms stall at our Farmers Market and asked for some chicken breasts.  Since my husband doesn’t like bones or skin, I requested boneless and skinless breasts.  You’ll never believe what I got:  1 whole boneless, skinless breast weighing in at over 2 lbs!!!!  Normally when frying chicken I like to make more of a milanese (pounded breast or cutlet) so that the coating doesn’t burn while the inside is cooking.  If the chicken piece is very thick, chances are my coating will burn in order to get the meat fully cooked.  In order to avoid this catastrophe, I poached the ginormous breasts first for 7 minutes, cooled, then coated for frying.  When the coating was browned, I finished the breasts in the oven to make sure they were indeed fully cooked.  Worked like a charm.

Here’s the Recipe:

1.  Soak the chicken in 2 cups of buttermilk for 8 hours and up to overnight in the refrigerator.  I added a dried red chopped jalapeño.  Why not?

IMG_08612.  Poach the breasts in enough water or chicken broth to cover, for 7 minutes.

3.  In one bowl place two eggs.  I added a couple of drops of siracha and coconut aminoes (or use soy sauce).  In another bowl place a cup of flour mixed with salt, pepper, and 1 tsp. baking soda.

4.  After chicken has cooled, dip in flour, egg mixture, then flour again.  Let sit on a wire rack for a few minutes.

IMG_4695

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5.  Heat up fat of choice (I used good old lard, about 1/4 cup) in a cast iron skillet over high heat.  Before adding breasts, lower to medium heat.  Add chicken and cook until nicely browned on both sides, approximately 2-3 minutes per side.

IMG_4696

6.  Transfer chicken on wire rack to a cookie sheet and place in a 375 degree oven until done, approximately 20 minutes for gigantic breasts, and probably about 10-15 for regular sized breasts.  I always reserve one breast for testing and cut into it during the cooking to gage doneness.

7.  I like to fry up some herbs and scatter on top of the chicken when finished.

IMG_4705

Serve with Pickles. Yes, pickles.

 

IMG_4697

 

6 Comments on “5 Star Notebook Dinners (Fried Chicken)

  1. Oh my! Now this is a Sunday night dinner that everyone should try with their loved ones….and then see if it becomes a Sunday night ritual! Yeah for chicken dinner on Sunday evening!

    • Thanks Ngan ! Will you be having lots of sandwiches this week? on you bread? I hope so, it looks so good!

      • Thanks, Sue! I will have a ton of sandwiches this week. We actually had sandwiches for dinner last night rather than cook because the bread was still fresh. I am so relieved that the whole wheat came out well because I’ve never made an all-whole wheat bread before! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

