Coconut Meat with Yoghurt, Gastrique and Black Pepper

IMG_0828

Young Whole Coconut. Before you hammer away at the coconut, drink up the delicious water

I recently went to my favorite taqueria where they serve punk tacos, ceviche, shaved cauliflower/vinegar tostadas, and coconut water.  What are punk tacos?  They’re baja style tacos served up by some really cool dudes in Santa Monica.  As I was enjoying my coconut water, I wondered why we hardly ever see recipes utilizing coconut meat, other than ones that involve pureeing the meat or drying it.  I asked the punkers to crack open the coconut when I was finished and took it home to experiment.  When I tasted the meat on its own, it was so delicious that I had to come up with some recipes.

Here is a wonderfully different sweet and savory breakfast or dessert idea that uses the sweet, chewy raw meat of a young coconut.  Give it a try!

2 young coconuts, drained of water

1/2 cup green grapes

1/2 cup black cherries

1/2 cup sugar or honey

2 tablespoons water

1/2 cup red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon dry red wine, such as cabernet

2/3 cup fresh cherries, pitted, chopped and blended with a bit of water

For the Gastrique:

Combine sugar or honey and water in small heavy-bottomed saucepan. Cook over medium-high heat until dissolved. Continue to cook without stirring until the liquid reaches a light blond caramel color, 5-8 minutes, swirling gently to help mixture cook evenly. Add red wine vinegar and continue to cook until mixture is re-dissolved, about 3 minutes.

Add wine to pan and reduce until syrupy, about 2 to 3 minutes. Add cherry and thyme and cook until mixture is dark red and again, syrupy. Remove from heat and season to taste with salt and pepper.

For the Coconut Meat:

Cover coconuts with a paper bag or towel and hammer until broken into pieces.  Spoon meat out of coconut shell and place in bowl.

Halve grapes and cherries and place in bowl.  Top with yogurt and gastrique and enjoy!
IMG_0852_2IMG_0853 IMG_0854 IMG_0855

20 Comments on “Coconut Meat with Yoghurt, Gastrique and Black Pepper

  1. How do you come up with such nice ideas? I have eaten tender coconut meat by itself, it is delicious, but never thought of combining with anything. Lovely!

  2. That looks amazing!! What is the name of he taco restaurant? I’m visiting LA in July and am looking for great places to eat. Thanks!

    • Oh, Laurel you’ll love it . . . no meat there. It’s called Tacos Puntas Cabras and it’s on Santa Monica Blvd. and 23rd Street. Knowing your health bent, you may also love to visit Real Food Daily in Santa Monica. Where are you staying and how long will you visit???

      • I’m there for a week, staying in Manhattan Beach. I love Southern Cal and I’m really looking forward to the trip. I will definitely check out the taco place and Real Food Daily. If you have any other recommendations, bring them on! 🙂

      • Yes! In Manhattan Beach there are 2 places you must must try: MB Post and Fishing With Dynamite.

      • Absolutely! Email me and I will give you my contact info. I will be in town in July! It would be great to meet you!

  3. Young coconut meat is one of my favorite food items. I’ve visited Vietnam a handful of times and always gorge on the fresh coconuts there!

Leave a Reply

