Let’s “Do The Little Shoe” + Pork Cheek Ravioli Recipe

There is a phrase in Italian “To Do The Little Shoe,” translated “La Scarpetta,” and it means to mop up the delicious pan sauces with a heel of bread.  This week I am co-hosting a party with my lovely friend Prudy, and I’m hoping for an endless stream of party guests hungry for food, fellowship and fun who will adopt the convivial spirit of La Scarpetta and eat up with relaxed abandon.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

First a little information about the party.  Fiesta Friday, a weekly blogging event of writers who bring recipes and other festive posts, has grown into a wonderful, supportive community since its inception 19 weeks ago.  Say what you like about virtual “friends” or “communities” — I personally feel a connection to all of my friends who participate in this weekly event; I have learned so much through reading about others’ lives and kitchens; and, it’s improved my own cooking and hospitality skills.  Win/Win. So much better than many of the “real” parties with “real” people I endured in teenage, collegiate and even adult times.  Let’s face it, sometimes parties are stressful and scary.  Not here!

Fiesta Friday is the brainchild of Angie, whose blog The Novice Gardener has personally been an inspiration for me.  Prudy and I invite you to join us by clicking here.

fiesta-friday-badge-button-i-party

 

 

 

 

To join, simply do the following:

1.  Create a post on your blog featuring a recipe or festive idea, thought or creation.

2.  In your post, link to Fiesta Friday #19.

3.  After you have published your post, return to the Fiesta Friday #19 page and scroll down and click the “Click to Join” badge.  This will walk you through the process of adding your post to the party.  It is very easy.

4.  Return to the “Click to Join” link on the FF #19 page to see what guests are at the party this week and what they have brought.  Mingle and have fun.  Join us next week and the week thereafter, and if you are interested in a little friendly competition and raising the level of your cooking/partying skills, stay tuned for monthly challenges.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Now, let’s do “La Scarpetta” with this soulful, meant-to-be-shared tender, old world ravioli:

Mangalitsa Pork Cheeks

Mangalitsa Pork Cheeks

 

This recipe was adapted from Emiko Davies‘ blog which I am crushing on right now.

Enjoy!  Be sure to sop up the remaining sauce with a bread heel.

42 Comments on “Let’s “Do The Little Shoe” + Pork Cheek Ravioli Recipe

  1. Thanks, Sue, for co-hosting FF 19. Another great old-world recipe from you – and very clear step by step instructions.

    • You’re welcome and they were amazing. Honestly, my husband said it was the best thing he’s eaten in 2014 and in my humble opinion we eat pretty well on a daily basis, so that’s a lot of meals that it trumped!

  2. These ravs look amazing, Sue! I have cut back on my pork intake, but I think this recipe calls for an exception. Love that you used the wonton wrappers (so much faster), and have no fear, I always mop up the sauce! Have fun co-hosting!

    • Thanks Ngan. The wonton wrappers probably are made for less filling and not to be boiled. . . . we ended up with an unraveled ravioli mountain but it still tasted good. Better than good, husband was “dying.” I imagine won ton skins are meant for, won tons, or potstickers! Imagine that! However, I am not up to making handmade ravioli dough right now. Maybe tomorrow, after coffee. So happy you made it to the party and thank you for your hospitality towards Nancy.

      • Oh interesting, they look so good in your photos! I couldn’t tell they fell apart. I have boiled wonton wrappers with filling before, but I folded the wrappers in half and they had less filling, so you may be right that there was just a bit too much in them. But who would complain when there’s more pork to enjoy! 🙂

      • I hope the tooth recovery is not that painful. I have not experienced having a problem with my any of my tooth/teeth. 🙂

  3. Pork cheek? Now that’s a funny word! 🙂 Forgive me for my immaturity, I think that ravioli sounds great. I’ll have to consider joining Fiesta Friday, it couldn’t hurt to branch out a little! 😀

    • Please do consider, as your blog has stories, wit, humor and a very distinct voice. We’d be honored to have you join us. I know what you mean on the pork cheeks, but it sounds better than jowl!

  4. WooHOO Sue!! Sue and Pru…. Pru and Sue!! Co-hosts together!! I’m so happy to be here with you this week… so far, it’s been a blast, and I’ve seen so many awesome recipes….including this one right here on birgerbird.
    This looks absolutely fabulous, my friend. And you’ve made these gorgeous raviolis look so easy. I’m printing this up so that I can try to make them… what a perfect dish to bring to Fiesta Fridays table… thank you so much for sharing this with all of us, I know that everyone else will be just as excited to see this lovely recipe as I am! Have a lovely weekend… ❤

    • Aha, finally I found you! I’ve been so busy mingling I couldn’t find you, although I did see your amazing ribs whiz by me at around 9 or 10 a.m. while I was in dentist chair . . . if that makes sense. . . of course it does!!! Thanks Pru for your compliment . . . I would go for a thicker egg roll or wonton wrapper next time, or maybe even a fresh lasagne sheet! We had pork cheek mountain coming out of the pasta pot if you know what I mean! Can I get you a drink? Now excuse me while I go grab a few ribs, plus a million other awesome things at this party! Rock on my fabulous co-host!!!

  5. Your pictures really make the dish come alive. Thank you for sharing, and Happy Fiesta Friday!!

  6. These ravioli sound absolutely delicious…Oh my, I’d love a huge plate of them right now!

  7. But, where to get pork cheeks? Do they go by a different name in the store? I really would like to try this. Maybe just with a fatty piece of pork? Looks so delish!! And your intro was perfect! I just came from Prudy’s and I thought hers was perfect. Two perfect posts! You two have taken co-hosting to a different level. I can’t thank you enough. ❤

    • Sure Angie, totally my pleasure. Definitely try to find pork cheeks. Jowl is same exact cut. You want no thicker than 1/2 inch piece and cut into 1-2 inch pieces to braise. I wouldn’t use belly or another cut. Try to find a butcher that will get you some cheek action! I honestly had a blast doing this and met lots of new folks.

  8. Hey Sue! Thanks so much for co-hosting this week! We all really appreciate it! Your recipe is beyond the beyond for me! I want to eat this right now! I sure hope there will be enough for everyone, because I am loading up my plate really high! You rock, Sue!

  9. STUNNING!!! you got me going good now! What great cheeks to find you are very lucky to have access to the Mangalitsa Pork Cheeks… very lucky… they look superb! I can see why your husband was delighted.. I am just looking at it!

    • You’re so right I’m lucky and thanks for reminding me we have so many fabulous farmers and butchers and restaurants here in LA . . . so when I’m bemoaning the lack of peacefulness and civilized existence due to the traffic congestion and all around bad attitude in LA I can keep my mouth shut

    • Thank you, and thanks to you! It is an unbelievable cut of meat and I can’t believe not used more often. So flavorful and rich that a little goes a long way, too. Thus the ravioli idea. I mean, I wouldn’t eat a pork cheek “steak” for dinner!

  10. Pingback: 5 Star Notebook Dinners (Fried Chicken) | birgerbird

  11. I’ve never has pork cheek before, I know Gordon Ramsay loves the less used cuts of pork, so I take his word and how good this ravioli looks that it’s a good choice! Looks yummy!

  12. Here I go again! Reading about delicious dishes when I’m hungry… dang these look and sound good. Thank you so much for co-hosting Sue! What a great party.

Leave a Reply

