Baking Therapy: Focaccia with Pink Lemonade Blueberries, Fresh Ginger & Grey Salt

2014-05-28 08.26.16

It’s been a blue week, so I went into baking therapy. When I saw these blushing “pink lemonade” blueberries at my Wednesday Farmer’s Market, they immediately cheered me up.

A few weeks ago one of my favorite bloggers, the sweetly pensive Margherita at La Petit Casserole, made a focaccia with milk and ginger that sounded so homey, comforting and simple.   I used her recipe, adapted it to a loaf pan, added semolina and cornmeal to the dough recipe, and garnished with pink lemonade blueberries, white peach and wild green sour plums on top.  The adaptation yielded a denser, coarser, and drier loaf, not a true focaccia, but a delicious toasting bread that is made for buttering.

2014-05-29 07.45.51

After Rise; Ready to Go Into Oven

2014-05-29 08.31.17

Out of the Oven & Cooling

2014-05-29 08.31.24

I feel better already, don’t you?

Ingredients:

220 ml of milk

20 ml of warm milk for the yeast

200 gr. of all purpose flour

100 g semolina flour

100 g cornmeal

10 gr. fresh yeast

60 ml. walnut oil

1 teaspoon of honey

1 cup blueberries, or mixture of blueberries and other fruit of your choice

1 teaspoon of fresh grated ginger plus 1 Tbps grated ginger for garnish

12 gr. of salt

coarse salt and olive oil to garnish

Instructions:

  • Mix flour, honey, oil, ginger and milk together;
  • Dissolve the yeast in the warm milk and then mix with flour;
  • Knead for 5-7 minutes by hand or with a stand mixer, first with mix paddle, then with dough hook, then add the salt and mix again a few minutes;
  • Leave the dough in the bowl for 1 hour and a half, covered in a warm spot
  • Oil your hands (the dough will be really humid) and transfer the dough in an oiled loaf pan
  • Spread the dough with your fingers, drizzle blueberries and other fruit of choice over top, pour more oil on top and some salt;
  • Let it rest for 1 hour again in a warm spot
  • Preheat oven to 350 °, bake the focaccia for 35 minutes

This recipe is submitted for Fiesta Friday #18, a wonderful food blogging event I am grateful to be a part of.  Thank you also to all of the judges and co-participants, and congratulations to my co-winners Milk and Bun and Giraffes Can Bake in this month’s first Fiesta Friday Challenge utilizing herbs and yeast.  Have a wonderful weekend, all!

 

 

 

42 Comments on “Baking Therapy: Focaccia with Pink Lemonade Blueberries, Fresh Ginger & Grey Salt

    • Well it’s not technically focaccia, I still have to make it the way it’s supposed to be made one of these days, but it is good! Thank you.

  1. Oh Sue! You’re such a lucky person! that have near the market like this, and can buy berries, which I’ve never seen and tried (I mean pink blueberry)

    • yes, they are not tart, only a little tart in the aftertaste, they are sweet! I had honestly never heard of such a thing until I saw them!

  2. I never seen those blueberry!! How interesting. Do they have same taste as usual purple one? Or are they quite different? It’s nice to have such a interesting farmer’s market near you.

  3. I’ve never used pink lemonade blueberries. They look so pretty on your bread. Very creative! I hope the weekend is better than your week, Sue. I had a bad week myself and am going to bake this weekend, too. Funny how therapeutic baking is. I’m going to knead me some serious bread this weekend. xx

    • Thanks Ngan are you doing challah or trying something new??? Let’s beat the living daylights out of dough this weekend!!!

      • I’m going to try making a whole wheat loaf bread. My husband keeps asking for whole wheat breads (healthier). I have a whole wheat challah recipe now too (from Shanna) but he doesn’t want that quite yet. I also just like the shape of a loaf bread. I am also going to bake myself a carrot cake. No occasion, and no, we won’t come close to finishing it, but I’m going to do it anyway because I’ve been wanting it. Pure indulgence. 🙂

      • I’m with you on the loaf bread, I don’t really care for a ton of crust and usually with the boule shape you get a heck of a lot of crispy crust. Plus I think the loaf pan steams the dough a little, making it a little moister. Have a great weekend!

  4. I’m sorry you had a blue week! 😦 I hope the baking therapy did the trick. I think it’s awesome you put 3 different fruits on the bread. A little different flavor on each slice. I love butter inviting bread! Happy Fiesta Friday!

    • thank you yes the flavors were interesting but let’s just say that wild green sour plums were meant for pickling! Wow!

  5. Wow, a blushing kind of “what” blueberries? I have never heard of these, but I am so intrigued. I live in blueberry-farm land, but I have never seen anything like this! Sue, do you mind me asking where you live? Where do they grow these berries? Our berries are all very blue!

      • Vancouver, British Columbia. So at least we are on the same coast of the same continent. I was thinking you might be in Europe or somewhere!

  6. I’m so sorry for this late comment, but I’m in Italy with a lot of problems of connection… I’m so proud that starting from my recipe you’ve made something so beautiful and original!!!
    Now I have to give it a chance!!! Thanks a lot, have a great we!

  7. I do feel better after looking at your photos and that gorgeous bread, Sue. Hope next week is red hot rather than blue – have a lovely weekend!

  8. Wow! I like so many things about this post. The pink lemonade blueberries – first time seeing them. The different toppings on a focaccia. And baking therapy, big fan of baking therapy. Great post for FF! 😀

  9. Baking does a heart and soul good. What a lovely creation inspired by Margherita. Hope you’re having a good week so far, Sue. 🙂

Leave a Reply

