Break Out of the Asparagus Rut

IMG_3318

Miso Oats with Asparagus, Fava, Black Garlic and Furikake

Asparagus is one of the vegetables that is synonymous with Spring in my vocabulary.  However, as with other vegetables I cook when they are in peak season, I find myself making it the same way over and over again — roasted with olive oil and salt, steamed and thrown into salad or dressed with a vinaigrette on its own, or sautéed in a quick stir-fry.  Even the bowl you see above, though it looks somewhat creative and different, uses steamed asparagus.  This year I was determined to try some different preparations with asparagus so I headed over to Food and Wine magazine and wrote a little piece for Foodlander.com describing what I found from the past winners of the “Best New Chef” award.  Foodlander is a nifty app that zeroes in on the nearest Farmer’s Market for you.  Head over to Foodlander and let me know what looks intriguing and inspiring to you!

6 Comments on “Break Out of the Asparagus Rut

  1. I think some people who don’t care for asparagus might change their mind with some of these recipes. I find it is hard to preserve asparagus in any way, so it is important to make the most of it while it lasts. Thanks for those ideas.

  2. What a wonderful piece you have written Sue – I do like all of the recipes you have featured but am intrigued by the miso butter! Is Foodlander an international app or just relevant to US farmers markets?

    • I believe they are international although they just launched and though the markets will appear and list when you enter your zip code, a full “bio” of the market is only available for the Chicago/Illinois markets right now.

Leave a Reply

