Hot Weather Cold Custard Breakfasts

Last week I made Panna Cotta for the first time.  It was so easy, and went over so well, that I declared this week Panna Cotta week in our home.  Our home in a 1911 original craftsman bungalow with poor insulation, which means it gets real hot when it’s hot outside, and real cold when it’s cold.  With the weather being in the 90s and 100s this week in Los Angeles, a cold Panna Cotta seemed a befitting breakfast.  And it was.

I used the same Panna Cotta recipe from the never-fail cook and blogger David Leibovitz, as I did in the Lemon Basil version, but adapted with buttermilk and yogurt, and coconut cream for the base, and used blood orange, mandarquat, and white mulberry that I found at this week’s Farmer’s Market for the fruit accent.

This Week's Farmer's Market Goods

This Week’s Farmer’s Market Goods

On the day it was hottest, I froze the cooked cream (Panna Cotta means “cooked cream” in Italian) custards, and drizzled a little hot espresso over them to start the melting action.  Wow, was that ever a good idea!

Frozen Coconut Panna Cotta with Walnut and Banan

Frozen Coconut Panna Cotta with Walnut and Banan

 

Blood Orange Panna Cotta with Cashew and Banana

Blood Orange Panna Cotta with Cashew and Banana

White Mulberries -- some of the sweetest fruit I've ever tasted!

White Mulberries — some of the sweetest fruit I’ve ever tasted!

Mandarquat and White Mulberry Panna Cottas

Mandarquat and White Mulberry Panna Cottas

Mmmmm

Mmmmm

12 Comments on “Hot Weather Cold Custard Breakfasts

  1. Gorgeous! The frozen one with the espresso sounds heavenly. I’ve never tasted a white mulberry before…I’ll have to look into those. I love that you’re always introducing me to new foods and flavors. 🙂 You molded the individual servings beautiful, too!

  2. Oh my! I wish I could wake up in your home! They all sound wonderful, especially the frozen panna cotta with hot espresso poured over. Luscious!

  3. A whole week of panna cotta?? LUCKY!! I’ve never had white mulberries. I need to get my hands on some pronto! 🙂

  4. Do you know that Persians have a love affair with white mulberries? Eaten just like that when in season, and dried to have with tea instead of sugar cube all year around. We had a giant mulberry tree in Iran. When in season, for several times spring through summer, old flat sheets are put all around the tree… someone climbs the tree to shake the branches for the mulberries to fall. The tree produced so much fruit, we will share them with friends and neighbors.

Leave a Reply

