10 Unique Farmer’s Market Foods

Here are 10 unique foods I found at the Wednesday and Saturday Santa Monica’s Farmer’s Market and the Sunday Brentwood Farmer’s Market:

IMG_0615

Cat Grass, Obviously. For your Cat, not your Wheatgrass Juicer

Dried Whole Persimmons.  These taste like a chewy ginormous date except a little fruitier.

Dried Whole Persimmons

IMG_0621

Cactus Chips, these are thick and sturdy

IMG_0622

Cactus Tortillas

Mandarquats -- you can eat the peel

Mandarquats — you can eat the peel

Amazing Salts:  Scorpion Pepper (hottest pepper on earth).  I ate one grain and whoa!

Amazing Salts: Scorpion Pepper (hottest pepper on earth). I ate one grain and whoa!

More Salts:  Black Lava; Aussie Flake; Fleur de Sel

More Salts: Black Lava; Aussie Flake; Fleur de Sel

Beef Tallow Face Cream!

Beef Tallow Face Cream!

Apple Wood for smoking bacon and for your bbq

Apple Wood for smoking bacon and for your bbq

Yellow Pea Shoots

Yellow Pea Shoots

Black Radish

Black Radish

Very Rare:  Black Khaisab Dates

Very Rare: Black Khaisab Dates

What are some unique foods you’ve seen recently at your Farmer’s Market?

Need an easy resource for locating your nearest Farmer’s Market?  Check out the Foodlander App and also my recent post on their blog!

10 Comments on “10 Unique Farmer’s Market Foods

  1. Wow! A unique and fabulous assortment…I need to take a closer look at my local market now!

  2. I like your unique finds at the market! Mandarquats I’ve never seen, nor the black radish and yellow pea shoots. Come to think of it, I haven’t see any pea shoots at the market this spring. I’m scared just looking at that bag of scorpion pepper (I’m adventurous, but not that adventurous!). I haven’t been to the market in a couple of weeks and I’m sure the stock is changing swiftly because of the turning seasons, but the last thing I saw there that piqued my interest were the edible flowers. There are so many of them and I never thought to use them in cooking!

    • Thank you . . . full disclosure: I actually bought some of that face stuff . . . . it didn’t smell too bad so I figured why not! The truly bizarre stuff is, I’ve heard, at some of the South American and Asian farmer’s market (can’t even repeat the stuff I read about here because you are polite company!) There is also a Thai stall at our market that sells the most amazing greens and herbs I’ve ever seen, they are soooo fragrant!

  3. Whoa! Great colors and visual texture in your photos. Thank you for these snaps. I believe you need to take a United States Farmers Market research trip…to investigate different and unique food offerings from the multiple Farmers Markets in places such as Vermont, Maine, Montana and so on.

Leave a Reply

