The Art of Supper: Avocado Walnut Tartine

Big Colorful Bowl

Big Colorful Bowl

I like the word “supper.”  It just has a homey, civilized vibe.  Supper was traditionally known as a midday meal, the main meal of the day.  Now that the standard main meal of the day is at nighttime, supper became dinner.  My best childhood grade-school friend, Annette, was German and when I would go to her house after school (almost every day) to watch cartoons and play outside, her mother would be preparing supper, to be eaten at around 3 p.m.  The house always smelled so good!  Usually some type of stew or braised meat or hearty soup, some potatoes, maybe sauerkraut or a hot green vegetable, rye bread and a green salad were served.  Sadly, when I heard the clank of the plates as the supper table was set, that was my cue to journey home.

At my own home, if I came directly from school, my mother always served up a snack, but it was a snack and not a meal . . . usually orange sections with a little sugar on them, a glass of milk with date bread, or some pretzels with lebanon bologna (a tart, salami-type, but not hard, bologna with origins in Lebanon, Pennsylvania) and hard cheese.

My preference has always been to eat my main meal at midday, even though I either feel pressured or have some sort of filing deadline right around lunchtime so that at work half an hour, and a “snack” seems more acceptable.  I like to skip breakfast and be truly hungry when I eat . . . and I prefer a light dinner of some broth and a few noodles, and a vegetable, maybe a roasted beet with salt, or half a sweet potato.  If I eat a proper breakfast, at home or out, I don’t eat lunch and will have my default dinner of burger on top of greens.  I like to give my tummy some long hours to rest and digest between feedings, rather than snacking and eating little meals often throughout the day.

So my habit has become to work through the lunch hour and then around 2:30 or 3 p.m. disappear for an hour and enjoy a real meal, usually a meal I have packed for myself.  My default lunch is a couple of hard boiled eggs or a can of tuna, an avocado, a bag of leafy greens, and a couple tablespoons of fermented vegetable.  I usually mix everything together, throw a dollop of yoghurt and squeeze half a lemon in to moisten, crack some pepper on top, and eat with a spoon.  If I am really hungry and/or have worked out vigorously in the morning, I will lay a base of cooked grain on the bottom.  Often I will have a little thermos of broth too.

This week I wanted to make a salad based on the wonderful creation from Farmshop with arugula, big fat fresh walnuts, walnut oil, sherry vinegar, poached beets, avocado, shaved fennel and quinoa that I’ve eaten many times.  In place of quinoa I used wheat berries; in place of arugula I used purple mizuna; I added purple asparagus and asparagus “coins” (they remind me of lentils) I found at this week’s Farmer’s Market; and, I added yoghurt so the salad would “stick together” and I could place it on toast.  It. Was. Delicious.

Here’s a very rough narrative recipe:

First slice off 2″ of the tops of the asparagus, and then slice thinly about 2″ of the remaining (non-woody part) of the stalks.

Asparagus "Coins"

Asparagus “Coins”

Then roast your asparagus heads for about 5 minutes with olive oil and salt, poach a large beet and cut into sections, and assemble the rest of your ingredients: the asparagus “coins,” some leafy greens, an avocado, walnuts, wheat berries or another chewy grain, shaved fennel and some torn fennel fronds.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Place in a bowl with salt and pepper, toss with walnut oil and some sherry or other delicious vinegar.  The walnut oil is very important and I encourage you to find a good quality one and use it.  It adds such a wonderful flavor to the salad. Add a dollup of yoghurt (greek).

IMG_0457_2

Toss well.  I had to transfer to a bigger bowl so as to not spill all over my living room (photo studio) floor.

half salad

What I like to do next is mound the mixture onto a piece of toast.

cross shot 2

In Tartine Form — I like to spoon up my salad with torn pieces of bread, but tartines look better!

salad on toast

It’s a little wooley beast of a tartine!

 

16 Comments on “The Art of Supper: Avocado Walnut Tartine

  1. That looks like a very healthy and delicious lunch option! My son loves walnuts in a salad so we have some every day. I usually have walnut oil too but ran out some time ago and keep forgetting to pick some up – hmmm must remedy that!

    • By the way I just discovered that you won a nice little contest on Food52 with your roasted chicken, potato and chickpea recipe. Wow! Congratulations, now i need to go check it out!

      • Yes, I tweaked one of Elaine’s recipes and entered the contest without really thinking about it. I was amazed to be shortlisted and then to win – blew me away! Very exciting though – I love F52 – it is such a great resource and inspiration too.

  2. Birgerbird girl, this is so so so so pretty! What a riot of colors and such a super duper recipe. Awesome! The pictures had me admiring the tartine without a blink!

  3. Gorgeous dish…love the colors of the veggies! It’s a feast for the eyes. It sounds delicious, too. I would love this for supper. 🙂

  4. I’m a walnut lover too. This looks so good and I’m going to serve it at our next ladies only lunch, which happens about once monthly.

Leave a Reply

