My Paris Kitchen Birthday Dinner

I am shamelessly posting that it’s my birthday today.  Every day we wake up and draw a breath is a day to celebrate; but this year on my birthday I had such a wonderful culinary fiesta that I wanted to share it with my friendly readers and fellow bloggers.I had the privilege of attending a book party for the one and only David Leibovitz ,the ultimate American in Paris, an extraordinary cook and writer.  His books include stories that are funny, impish and personal, which is just my style.  I got to meet my secret admiree last night at the also extraordinary Suzanne Goin’s restaurant Lucques, where she put on a special Sunday Supper featuring a 4 course dinner, all recipes from David’s new book “My Paris Kitchen.”

IMG_3870

It was rather dark in the restaurant, and I generally don’t like to snap photos of my food in restaurants, so I’m using the book as a reference.  The Courses:

Tomato Tomato!

Tomato Tomato!

Leeks with Mustard Vinaigrette

Leeks with Mustard Vinaigrette

and

Chicken Parmentier

Chicken Pot Parmentier:  Chocked full of Peas Favas, Potato, Celery and a Decadent Veloute

 

Warm Chocolate Cake with Dulce De Leche & Fleur de Sel

Warm Chocolate Cake with Dulce De Leche & Fleur de Sel

 

25 Comments on “My Paris Kitchen Birthday Dinner

  1. Oh, happiest of birthdays to you! How wonderful that you got to meet Mr Lebovitz – he writes so brilliantly! He used to be the pastry chef at Alice Walters’ restaurant, Chez Panisse and just has such a respect for ingredients – I am not surprised that he has settled in so well in France! This book is on my list now that I have seen your post. xx

  2. Happy Birthday! Well of course you should share that with us – we are family of sorts. What a great opportunity to meet David Lebovitz – so awesome! And that you got to eat at Suzanne Goin’s restaurant – doubly awesome. Wishing you a wonderful year ahead and continuing reasons to celebrate!

  3. happy birthday to you….happy birthday to you…happy birthday, dear sue….happy birthday to you!! (be thankful you can’t hear me, lalala!) Your celebration dinner sounds wonderful!

  4. Happy birthday, Sue! Why should there be any shame in plugging your own birthday? There shouldn’t! You should shout it from the rooftops. Hope you have a fabulous day and your dinner sounds delicious!

  5. Happy Birthday Sue! What a wonderful party you had. Why I always have to read your posts when I’m hungry I don’t know… I want that dessert! lol I hope you have a spectacular year.

  6. Happy Birthday to you!
    Happy Birthday to youu!
    Happy Birthday, dear Sueee,
    Happy Biiiirthday tooo youuuu!

    Happy Birthday, my dear friend! That is one amaaaazing birthday celebration! You lucky duck, you! 😛

    • thank you! and the cookbook is, there are some fabulous baking recipes that look delicious and not overly complex or fussy.

Leave a Reply

