Sweet Avocado

In college I had a good tennis team friend, Harriet, who used to eat mashed up avocado with banana, sugar and milk.  She was half Filipino and grew up in Kuwait.  She did not know the savory application of the Avocado, only the sweet.  I had never known any sweet recipes for Avocado, only savory.  But I tasted her bowl one day after a long hot tennis and track session, and boy was it good!

The Avocado fruit is commonly used in Asia to make sweet shakes or “smoothies.”  In Indonesia, it is called “Jus Alkapat” and involves avocado, condensed milk, ice cubes and . . . . . chocolate syrup or . . . coffee!!!!!; in the Phillipenes the drink is made with avocado, ice, milk and sugar; the Vietnamese version, Sinh to Bo (Butter Fruit Shake), is made with avocado, milk, sugar, ice and condensed sweetened milk; in Brazil I actually had such a shake made with avocado, milk, sugar and ice.

Since I am still on soft and liquid foods due to my recent tooth extraction, I am on the search for different ways to be in post-operative compliance.  I got tired of ice cream and yogurt after a few days.  Well, not really.  But I needed more variety.  And as you all know, one of the wonderful features of the internet is that it has a vast sub-universe of food information and recipes.  I first made a standard Vietnamese version, and I could not believe how incredibly delicious it was.  Wow. But I thought it wouldn’t lack anything if I didn’t add all of the sugar, so I opted for a sweet tomato and date relish.

Here is my own version of a sweet avocado drink:

Ingredients:

1 large ripe avocado

Ripe Avocado

Ripe Avocado

1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk (if you don’t do dairy, simply use coconut milk or coconut cream thinned out with a bit of water)

1 cup ice

1 date, chopped

2 cherry tomatoes, quartered

Quartered Sun Golds & Medjool Date

Quartered Sun Golds & Medjool Date

A handful of nasturtiums or other edible flowers

1/4 tsp grey salt

Instructions:

Place the avocado, milk, salt and ice in a blender and blend for 30 seconds on medium speed.  Pour into a glass and top with date and tomato.  Rim glass with flowers.  Drink up!

Ready to Drink

Ready to Drink

In a Mason Jar, Ready to Go to Work

In a Mason Jar, Ready to Go to Work

 

 

 

20 Comments on “Sweet Avocado

  1. Learn something new everyday. Sweet avocado..never occurred to me. You are a wealth of information aren’t you! First almonds…now this!

    • Yes I’ve finally found a way to channel my obsession and curiosity. I’m glad that other folks like you find it interesting!!!

  2. Growing and enjoying avacados every season has been a family tradition for us, but we have always had it sweet too. While it will take some more courage to add salt to my avacados, this recipe above looks absolutely fabulous! Dad has plucked fresh ones this morning, so – yay!

Leave a Reply

