Porridge Files

I love a bowl of porridge for breakfast or lunch, don’t you?  Here are some recent versions at our household:

13 Comments on “Porridge Files

  1. Looks delicious! I love porridge, too, but I haven’t experimented much with savory. What types of things do you mix into savory porridge? What grain do you use as your base?

    • Hi Lisa, thank you. I like using steel cut oats soaked overnight in water or a little whey (stuff that drains off from strained yoghurt) as a base, then adding cooked farro, cooked rye berries, cooked wheat berries, freekeh, spelt or kamut or brown rice. I like oats because they get a little creamy and the other grains are pretty “separated.” Miso is a go-to because it’s savory but also a little sweet and pairs well with both fruit and veggies. I like to add a braised cooked green, some fermented veggies (like sauerkraut or kimchee), some nuts and seeds for crunch, and maybe some sliced radish. Or I love love community grains brand polenta which is so flavorful on its own, it’s like nothing you’ve ever eaten polenta-wise from the store or a restaurant before, it’s an heirloom grain and you could eat it straight up and be happy, maybe with a little butter. I sometimes add browned butter and capers to a savory porridge, or stewed tomato, or avocado with olive oil and cracked black pepper. Mmmmm.

  2. These look so delicious…I love a good bowl of porridge.. The broiled citrus and yogurt sounds so delicious.. and you have me intrigued by stinging nettles, and I’ll be Googling them after I post this comment! And the savory? I’m totally interested.. I’ve always thought sweet!! You can always count me in for steak and eggs!! 🙂

    • Glad you enjoyed! Stinging nettles are so interesting, the flavor is absolutely delicious and you get a teeny crunch from the nettles, but man are they kind of a mess . . . . you don’t really want the stems so de-stemming all the leaves can be kinda time consuming. I’m sure there are better ways but I haven’t found them yet. Savory oats are sooo good!

    • You are so sweet, thank you! Duck eggs are incredible, I never knew . . . the yolks are practically poached they are so firm . . . and buttery and . . . huge!

      • Oh my! I’ll have to try them. I saw a dozen at the farmer’s market last weekend and didn’t buy them because they were $10 a dozen! I may just do it once…

Leave a Reply

