Lazy Person’s Lemon Farro Muffins with Golden Raisin Embellishment

This is what I do with my leftover citrus after I’ve squeezed the living daylights out of it:

A View From Above

A View From Above

I make marmalade and muffins.  Not just any marmalade, though.  Lazy Man’s Marmalade (recipe forthcoming).  Marmalade that has no sugar and requires no zesting, sectioning, pectin-ing, removing pith, etc. Okay, so it’s not really marmalade.  Let’s call it fruit rind puree?  No, let’s not, that sounds yucky.

So, since my husband likes things real real sour, one day I just decided to take all my citrus ends, boil them in water to remove the bitterness, simmer, add some honey and apple cider vinegar at the end, and puree in the blender.  And he loved it.  Score!

Last night I was ready to make “marmalade,” as I’d accumulated a normal week’s end of citrus ends.  To sweeten for my own tastes, I added some golden raisins which I’d moistened briefly then roasted for caramel-ly deliciousness, at the end of the boil and let them soak until everything cooled, added a few fennel seeds, then whizzed it until medium smooth and man was it delicious. But I had some leftovers after filling 3 jars.

With muffins on the brain, to the the cup of leftover Lazy Marmalade I added 1 cup of almond flour (but you could use any type of flour), 2 eggs, 1 tsp. baking powder, and 1/2 cup cooked sprouted farro, 1 tsp fennel seeds and poured the batter into my (favorite) silpat muffin molds.  (By the way those things are the bomb for muffin bakers– you can make any odd number of muffins, even just 1, and pop them directly into the dishwasher for clean up).  Double score!

Here’s the Recipe:

Ingredients:

1 cup Marmalade (citrus is good but you can use any Marmalade)

1 cup almond flour (or any flour)

1 tsp fennel seeds

2 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup cooked grain (I like farro but you could use oats/oatmeal, brown rice, wheat berries, cous cous)

Dash lemon juice or other fruit juice

1/4 cup golden raisins, soaked in warm water for 10 minutes then roasted in 400 degree oven for 12-15 minutes

Instructions:

1.  Combine flour, baking powder and cooked grain

2.  Gently warm marmalade with raisins.  Add eggs and whisk.

3.  Add flour mixture to wet mixture, mix well, and pour into 4 small or 2 large muffin molds.

4.  Pop into oven and check for doneness after 25 minutes.

Enjoy!

16 Comments on “Lazy Person’s Lemon Farro Muffins with Golden Raisin Embellishment

  1. Everyone has been making these wonderful springy flavored muffins lately. I’m not a baker, but maybe I could get on board with something called “lazy persons muffins”…that’s my kind of baking 🙂 These look great.

    • I’m really not a baker either but I love home baked goods so I get in there and try . . . but mostly I improvise. These are easy peasy! Thank you for your comment!

  2. Not a baker?? I think these muffins would disagree! Look delicious to me, and I love your use of farro in a muffin!

  3. Hello!

    Your blog has caught our attention because of the quality of the recipes. We would be delighted if you would join us at http://www.mytaste.com/ so that we could link to it.

    myTaste.com is a search engine that compiles the best American cooking sites and blogs from the Internet. Several hundred blogs are already enrolled here and are taking benefit from the traffic we are sending to their sites.

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Elin
    MyTaste.com

    • Hello Elin!
      Thank you so much I am honored! I added the widget to my sidebar which appears on the About and select other pages of my blog. My blog does not allow the sidebar on the home page. I hope this worked!!

  4. Now these look yummy! I could handle that recipe… even the marmalade. I’m going to reblog it to my wordpress.com blog (which is actually not anything but reblogs!) so I can keep it. I’m pouting because for some reason I haven’t been getting your posts to my mail (I’m signed up for it through WP reader). I hate it when it does that!

  5. I have also silicon ware from Silpat! I have all different flower baking mats & love them so much. I made these tasty muffins & used home-made raspberry jam in them! I used home-made almond flour from the whole almonds! Yum Yum yummmm! 😀

    • Haha! I know, they’re the greatest, so easy to clean! I wish there was such a thing as a silpat roasting pan!

Leave a Reply

