Sprouted Farro Porridge Bread with Molasses and Sunflower Seed

I recently bought Chad Robertson’s Tartine Book No. 3.  It’s like a doctoral level bread baking bible with gorgeous photos and recipes that incorporate wonderful nutty grains, in sprouted, cooked, flaked and whole form.  I was especially taken with the Rene’s-Style Pan Loaves chapter which is Chad’s take on the dense Danish-style rye breads and the Porridge Bread chapter which uses rye, farro, and oat porridges in the doughs.

We could stop there and this book would already be a opus. But the final chapter on Pastry really catapults the book into the genius realm. How about some hearty grains in cookies, gougères, tea cakes, scones, and cakes? There’s a recipe for Buckwheat-Apple Tart, there’s a Cherry Galette made with kamut flour and creme fraîche, and a Flammenkuchen made with spelt puff pastry dough? Crazy!

The Porridge Breads follow the Master Recipe, which took me from start to finish about 14 hours (but I had a matured sourdough starter, which took about 7 days), except for during the bulk rise, after two folds and turns, you add your porridge, nuts & nut oil.  I used a combination of rye flour and semolina flour.  The Master Recipe includes making a levain with the matured starter, resting it, adding flours and water, resting, rising (including every 30 minutes folding and turning), dividing and shaping, rising again, and then baking.

Here is my levain:

IMG_0117_2

FARRO PORRIDGE–SUNFLOWER SEED
Farro is another ancient grain that is much higher in protein than
modern wheat.
For Two loaves
FLOUR BAKER’S % WEIGHT
Rye Flour 50 500 g
Semolina flour 50 500 g
WHEAT GERM 7 70 g
WATER 75 750 g
LEAVEN 15 150 g
FINE SEA SALT 2.5 25 g
ADDITIONS
Cooked farro porridge (see page 168), cooled 50 500 g
Soaked Sunflower Seeds, toasted, coarsely chopped (optional) 20 200 g
Any nut oil (optional) (I used sesame) 5 50 g

Molasses (optional) 4 Tbsp.

Farro Flakes for Coating (optional):  2 Tbsp.

During the master method, after the first two series of turns, about 1 hour into the bulk rise, add the farro porridge, nuts and nut oil gently by hand until

incorporated into the dough.  Continue with the master recipe.  Warning:  you need focus, detail orientation and patience!!!

Master Recipe Hand Notes

Master Recipe Hand Notes

I sprouted some sunflower seeds in kefir water overnight instead of hazelnuts, because that is what I had on hand.
Sprouting Sunflower Seeds

Sprouting Sunflower Seeds

Roll the shaped dough in farro flakes (optional) to coat. Place in floured bannetone basketsflake-side down seam-side up, for the final rise.

Home baked loaves are to be baked in a cast iron dutch oven, covered, at 500 degrees of 20 minutes, then at 450 degrees for 10 minutes, then uncovered at 450 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Done Baking

Done Baking

Sliced Up:  Dense, Moist and Delicious!

Sliced Up: Dense, Moist and Delicious!

14 Comments on “Sprouted Farro Porridge Bread with Molasses and Sunflower Seed

      • Do you have Tartine’s first book as well? If you do, what did you think? I realised that I was checking first book on Amazon before, but I didn’t buy it then.

      • I do have the first one, but not the second. To be honest, I respect his approach and I liked the book for inspiration and general information & guidelines but I think baking can really be subjective and there are few hard and fast rules and the pages and pages of steps and instructions, etc., just makes me want to throw the book across the room. I have Sandor Katz’s book “Wild Fermentation” where he has a whole chapter on bread and when I read the sentence “I generally don’t measure anything” I breathed a sigh of relief.

    • Ngan, thank you. I wonder how you have the time to read your books . . . that takes patience too. This book is so awesome, the gorgeous photos of not just the food but all over Europe . . . . really makes you want to eat bread and convinced me that it can be healthy too. The only drawback is that I did like 10 hours of dishes. (no dishwasher in our house).

  1. You are a dedicated person. I’m lucky if I spend an hour cooking once a week. Then I make sure I have plenty of leftovers so I don’t have to do it again for awhile (I hate cooking). Luckily I married a man who does all the cooking for his boys, and I participate in his meals whenever he makes something without gluten. When it’s just the two of us, I’m hoping we can eat the same stuff, of course I’ll have to wean him off white flour products! This DOES look scrumptuous…

  2. Wow, this is incredible. I absolutely love breads studded with seeds and texture, and this looks right up my alley. Your dedication is inspiring! Looks beautiful!

  3. Pingback: Update to Farro Porridge Bread: Tartine Master Recipe | birgerbird

  4. Seems very healthy. I guess you like Instagram for food shots. Maybe for this one, a straight forward photo in natural light might show off its yumminess even more. )

Leave a Reply

