What’s Your Bowl O’ ?

Is there a food you could eat a big Bowl O’  . . . by itself . . . for your whole meal?  Here I’ll share a recipe for kale (which I absolutely do not like raw or in salads and can only eat in a smoothie with some dates and almond butter) that you will want to eat by the bowlful.

I like to do this every once in a while, just have one bowl of one thing for dinner or lunch.  It satisfies my desire to sort of . . . let’s face it . . . overeat certain things that I really like.  For example, Thanksgiving stuffing, roasted brussels sprouts, fiddlehead ferns when they’re in season, caramelized cabbage, and Suzanne Goin’s long cooked cavolo nero (recipe below!). . . without turning into an unhealthy binge.

You know, as one of probably millions of women who has struggled with eating “disorder” and body “image” issues, I am grateful that this obsession has turned productive and that I am now able to enjoy cooking, writing about cooking and eating.  I am sure many of you can relate.  Although I am so much healthier and happier now, I still have my funny moments.

Just 5 years ago I took my son Billy to the cinnamon roll bakery in Newport Beach where my husband and I were going to have cinnamon rolls made for our wedding reception.  That’s another post:  the Honey Baked Ham, biscuit, mustard, cheese and cinnamon roll wedding banquet!  Anyhow, I really liked them because they were pure goo . . . . not cakey, probably not fully cooked even, just doughy, sweet, caramelly goodness.  We got our rolls, moved to a bench and watched the boats come and go on Balboa Island and I explained to him that I was getting married and I really wanted him to be there even though it would mean waking up at 6 a.m.  As we ate our rolls, after finishing half my son said, “Uh, I don’t feel that good,” (he liked it but all that sugar and dough!). . . . WHILE I WAS THINKING  “Okay, if I eat all of mine and the rest of his, and maybe another, and if I go for a huge run and then don’t eat dinner, that would work.”  See what I mean???

So back to the concept of “Bowl O’ .”  This kale recipe makes kale that is almost like Abba-Zabba, it’s chewy, caramelly, sticky and beyond delicious!  Here is Suzanne Goin’s recipe adapted by the Los Angeles Times:

Total time: About 1 hour

Servings: 4 to 6

Note: Adapted from Suzanne Goin of Lucques. Cavolo nero (black kale) is also known as Tuscan, Lacinato and dinosaur kale.

4 bunches cavolo nero, stemmed and cleaned

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 white onion, thinly sliced lengthwise

1/2 sprig rosemary

1 dried chile de árbol

2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1/2 teaspoon salt, divided, more as needed

2 tablespoons chicken broth or water, optional

1. Blanch the cavolo nero in a large pot of salted, boiling water just until softened slightly, 2 to 3 minutes. Drain the cavolo nero and immediately place it in a bowl of ice water to cool. Drain again and set aside.

2. In a large, heavy-bottom saucepan heated over medium-high heat, add the olive oil, onions, rosemary and chile de árbol. Gently sauté for 2 minutes, then add the garlic and season with one-fourth teaspoon salt. Continue to cook until the onions are transparent and just beginning to color, an additional 8 to 10 minutes.

3. Stir the cavolo nero into the pan and cook over medium heat, stirring often, for 30 to 40 minutes. As it cooks, the cavolo nero will turn a deep dark green, almost black color, and the texture will go from soft to almost a little crisp from caramelizing on the bottom of the pan. This is good and will enhance the flavor. If thecavolo nero becomes too dry, add a little stock or water to moisten the bottom of the pan. Season with the remaining one-fourth teaspoon salt and remove from heat. Serve immediately.

Each of 6 servings: 120 calories; 2 grams protein; 8 grams carbohydrates; 2 grams fiber; 10 grams fat; 1 gram saturated fat; 0 cholesterol; 224 mg. sodium.

http://www.latimes.com/features/la-fow-sos28-2009jan28,0,3039776.story#ixzz2uowoaphe

The Salad "Trio" from Suzanne Goin's Larder at the Tavern:  Cavolo Nero, Farro & Cauliflower

The Salad “Trio” from Suzanne Goin’s Larder at the Tavern: Cavolo Nero, Farro & Cauliflower

3 Comments on “What’s Your Bowl O’ ?

  1. I wish I had a bowl of the fern in your picture! Looks so good, and I cannot get it here. (We eat fern heads in Japan, and I had it in Canada, too) Thanks for Kale recipe, I shall try this. My husband buy it often but I don’t have a clue what to do with them.

Leave a Reply

